Vacation Days and Coffee Breaks: Chapter 1

Clint has some time off after a mission. Unfortunately it lines up with a day Tony’s stuck in board meetings.  Luckily, by this point, these two are pros at finding solutions to these kinds of problems.

Found this one tonight and had to post it cuz it’s sort of a slice-of-life one, and gives me a chance to write them being all domestic and stuff.  I don’t get to do enough of that.  Hopefully it’ll all fall into place that way.^^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hawkeye58:  Tony.  Pepper YELLED at me.  Since when does Pepper yell at ME?

 

 

Stark1:  Wait what?  Why?

 

 

Hawkeye58:   I don’t know.  Something about “there are mugs for a reason” and “you’re worse than Tony” and “unsanitary” and “men!”.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha!  Okay, that one’s all on you.  I told you before that she gets mad when I drink straight from the container.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  But it wasn’t the container.  It was the coffee pot.  And I was gonna finish it myself, so it wasn’t like I was leaving it around for everyone to drink.

 

 

Stark1:  …..you drank from the coffee pot?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, yeah.         But I was gonna finish it!     Actually, I was gonna share it with you, but you weren’t in the lab, and Jarvis said you were in meetings today.  So I was gonna finish it while I made a new pot and I was gonna bring it to you in one of your travel mug things.  And then Pepper came in and got mad.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, yea.  She’s spent years trying to break me out of similar habits and then she catches you doing that?  Not surprised.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  But that was the only thing big enough to hold all of it, anyway.  I offered to make her her own.  I mean, there’s like, four coffee makers in there, but she just did one of the sighs I’ve only seen her do at you before, and walked out.

Is she really mad at me?

 

 

Stark1:  Haha no.  Just despairing that you’re so much like me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh.       Cuz I didn’t mean to.    I’ll get myself my own coffee pot.    But anyway.  Where do you keep your travel mug things?  I know you have them.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha oh hush.  You can keep using that one.  She’s used to that shit by now.  It’s just Pepper’s way.  If she didn’t have something to complain about, she’d lose her purpose in life.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh yeah?  You sure?

 

 

Stark1:  Clint, I’ve known the woman for years.  We dated.  Yea.  I’m sure.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh.  Okay.

Sorry.  She just kinda surprised me.  I don’t think she’s yelled at me before.  It was weird.

 

 

Stark1:  Guess she’s getting more comfortable with you.  Not that she was UNcomfortable with you before, but if she’s yelling, you know she’s truly at home.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  So that’s a good thing then?      Just wanna know, cuz usually I know when I’m gonna get yelled at.  I know I tend to bring that out in people.  😛

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha yea.  You’re good at that.

And yea Clint.  I’m positive.  Seriously.  Years of working with, fighting with, sleeping with her…..I think I know my Pep.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Okay.  Heh.  Sorry.  Just.  Didn’t want her mad at me.

Want her to keep liking me, you know?  She’s important.

 

 

Stark1:  She is.  Very.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  So I mean.  It threw me off is all.  Cuz usually she’s really patient with me.  But knowing that’s normal is good.  Thanks.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha no problem.  She’s usually much worse with me.  Believe me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh I do.

So.  Travel mug?

 

 

Stark1:  Uhh…….

The first of the lower cabinets towards the left side of the kitchen.  It’s a skinny one.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Skinny cabinet?  Oh.  Found it.

You have a lot of these.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha well I drink a lot of coffee and I’m bad at remembering to bring them home.  Pepper just started to buy me lots of them.  And I bought myself some.  The stupid ones.  The rest are Pepper’s attempts to give me some semblance of maturity.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha should I bring you one of those?  Impress the guys at the meetings?

 

 

Stark1:  Haha why not.  Choose the most respectable one you can find.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Okay.  Think I got a good one.

 

 

Stark1:  Awesome.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  When’s your next meeting?  Or you in one now, too?

 

 

Stark1:  Bout 45 minutes.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Oh.    I can try an’ make that.  I think I could just.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea?  Heh.  That’d be great.  If not, you can always just interrupt.  It’s fine if you come in and drop it off.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  Okay.

Guess I should throw real clothes on.  You’re in the offices downstairs, right?

 

 

Stark1:  Haha why.  What’re you wearing?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Um.  Shorts.  And an undershirt.  Pretty much what I woke up in.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh man.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   What?  I kinda went straight for coffee this morning.      Afternoon.  Whatever the hell time it is.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha.  God you’re adorable.  When did you wake up?

 

 

Hawkeye58:    Um.  An hour or so ago.  Hour and a half maybe.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha lazy.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hey.  Shut up.  Long missions and awesome welcome home sex will do that.  I think I kinda remember sorta waking up when you left.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  A little.  You kinda blinked at me a bit and I told you to go back to sleep.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  And look.  I listened.  You should be proud of me.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Always.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  Awesome.

 

 

Stark1:  I mean that.  I am.  Proud of everything you do.

 

 

Hawkeye58:            that.           Fuck that really means a hell of a lot.  Hell of a lot.

 

 

Stark1:  It’s true.  You’re amazing.  And I know you’re already fully convinced of that.  😛  But you really are.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well yeah I am, just.     I ah.    It’s nice.       Always had trouble doing that.  So.        Damn, you’re making me all stupid happy.

 

 

Stark1:  Trouble doing what?  Convincing yourself that you’re amazing?  I find that hard to believe.  😛

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Heh nah.            Getting other people to be proud of me.    I mean.     Coulson was kinda really the first.  So yeah.  Kinda silly but it means a lot.

 

 

Stark1:  Well I am.  Immensely.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Cuz you’re amazing.

 

 

Stark1:  Well we know that.  😛

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Yeah we do.  Casual dress is okay for me right?  Just dropping off coffee.

 

 

Stark1:  Hell, you can come in in those shorts if you want.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha yeah?

 

 

Stark1:  Oh yea.  You look super cute in your pjs.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  I don’t know.  Think I look pretty scruffy.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  And it’s cute.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You think?  Heh.  Well if you don’t mind me wandering down there scruffy-like, I’m all for it.

 

 

Stark1:  ……I might end up postponing the meeting/taking a break so I can kiss you senseless.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Haha well.  So long as it doesn’t get you in too much trouble.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey.  I’m the boss.  I can take a makeout break if I want.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  True that, then.

Am I allowed to stay barefoot?

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha yea.  Do that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Awesome.    Heh.  Your scruffy, just woken up boyfriend is totally bringing you a very respectable mug of delicious coffee.

 

 

Stark1:  That sounds incredible.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Good.  Cuz it’s happening.  Coffee’s almost done.

 

 

Stark1:  Good.  I wanna see you.

Hate it when you’re home and I’m not.  I mean, I love that you have the day off, but I work from home so often that it just seems so unfair when you have a day off and I’m at the office.  Why can’t they always line up.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha cuz that would be convenient.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well hey.  At least we’re in the same building.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha true.  That makes this even funnier.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hey, I could just wander around all day.  See how many people wonder who left the drifter in.  😛

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha oh man.  Well, I think most of them know you by now.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha yeah?  But I’m usually a little cleaned up.

 

 

Stark1:  I’m pretty sure they know you well enough to recognize you, no matter how scruffy you may be.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha yeah?  Didn’t think I was around there that much.

 

 

Stark1:  You’re mine.  They know what you look like.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What.  You put out a bulletin?

 

 

Stark1:  Ha!  No.  But most of them DID see the press conference.  And I do keep photos of you in my office.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You do?  Oh man.  I love you.

 

 

Stark1:  How would you not expect that?  I like looking at you while I work.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I don’t know.  Guess I just didn’t think of it.  I mean.  I keep pictures of you, but no one sees ‘em.  I don’t actually have an office.  So I didn’t think of it.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Well I DO have an office, and I DO keep photos there.  Lots of them.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  All over your desk and stuff?

 

 

Stark1:  Yup.  And you’ve replaced my cars as my screensaver.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh man.  Height of flattery.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha shut up.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hey I’m serious.  I know how you love your cars.

 

 

Stark1:  I do.  They’re my babies.  Muffins and Bacon understand.  😛

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha I’m sure they do.

 

 

Stark1:  Totally do.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well they know they’re your babies, too.  Our babies.

 

 

Stark1:  They better.  Cuz I love them to pieces.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha they know.  They’re smart.  And spoiled.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh, totally.  Completely spoiled little shits.

 

 

Hawkeye58:    Yup.  And they know it, the bastards.  Gotta love ‘em.

 

 

Stark1:  I do.  More than I can say.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Me too.

Love you, too.  So much.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Love you too.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Good.  Better.

 

 

Stark1:  I do.  Absolutely adore you.  My sleepy, scruffy SHIELD soldier.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha God I love you.

Hey.  What floor you on?  Or should I just wander about to find you?

 

 

Stark1:  Haha I’m in my main office on the eighth floor.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh.

Damn, I forget how many floors there are until I see all the elevator buttons.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha hey.  If I’m gonna build something, it’s gonna be huge and it’s gonna be awesome.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha well.  At least I know you never half-ass anything.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?  I should think you’d know that by now.  From the first kiss I gave you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Right.  Yeah.  Good point.

 

 

Stark1:           Yea?  Heh.  Damn.  Seriously?  That little one in the rafters at the gala?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Little for you, maybe.  Quite an event for me.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey.  For me too.  Huge.  Just didn’t know that it was really mindblowing for you.  It was a pretty small kiss.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, but.         I mean.  I liked it.      And that at the time was pretty mindblowing for me.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  That.       That’s awesome.  I mean……damn.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  I mean.  I never thought I would MIND.  But actually liking it.  It was really new.

 

 

Stark1:  I never thought……

I mean, I was trying really hard to make it count, to show you how I felt, what you meant to me, without scaring you off.  That’s why I tried to put so much into it, but kept it small.  So I never would’ve thought it would be something that would really have a huge effect.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well.  It did.  I’d say you succeeded.

 

 

Stark1:  That.  Is just amazing to hear.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  Heh.  Good.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Damn.  Totally just made my day.

…..did it stick with you?  Like, did you used to think about it a lot?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Yeah.  I mean.  That whole night, but that.  Cuz.  It was kinda first contact.

 

 

Stark1:  God I wanna kiss you so bad right now.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, you’ll be able to, shortly.

 

 

Stark1:  Good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha what.  You think I wouldn’t let you?

 

 

Stark1:  No.  Doesn’t mean I can’t be excited about it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well.  I do like when you’re excited.

 

 

Stark1:   I’m ALWAYS excited to see you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  And I always love it.

 

 

Stark1:  You better.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh?  Or what, tough guy?

 

 

Stark1:  Mm.  Not sure.  But I’ll think of something.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha yeah?  Just in case?

 

 

Stark1:  You know me.  I like to be prepared.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.  That’s true.  Mostly.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey.

…..okay.  You win.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha good.  Cuz you totally can’t say you never fly by the seat of your pants.  😛

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha yea.  Guess I do that…..94% of the time.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  That sounds about right.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Hey.  Least it works out about….89% of the time.  Maybe a bit more.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Give or take.  You are pretty good at plan b’s, too.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, I handle stuff pretty well, all things considered.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You handle stuff real well.  Don’t let anyone tell you different.

 

 

Stark1:   Heh.  Thanks.  That…..thanks.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   It’s true.  And I’ll stand by it.

Heh.  I’m getting a lot of double takes.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha so what.  I bet you look damn good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha I look like I just crawled out of bed and drank a pot of coffee.

 

 

Stark1:  Well you look sexy when you’ve just crawled out of bed.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well yeah.  That’s true.  😉

 

 

Stark1:  Even more so when you’re especially tousled after a night of making love to me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Mnn yeah.  Extra sexy.

 

 

Stark1:  Hell yea.  When I see you like that….all I wanna do is drag you back into bed and spend the rest of the day there, snuggling and wrestling and having sex and messing up the bedsheets in as many ways possible.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha well.  As much as I’d love that, you gotta focus on work today.  But I’m sure when you’re done, we can work something out.

 

 

Stark1:  Sounds good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Good.  In the meantime, I’ve got coffee for you.

 

 

Stark1:  Cuz you’re the best boyfriend ever.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Damn right I am.  So it’s okay if I come in, then?  I’m right down the hall.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Come right in.  Still got a little while till the meeting.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh good.   Heh.  Next time I’ll bring you food, too.  Didn’t think I’d have time today.

 

 

Stark1:  You’re so damn cute.  I love you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oi.    No making me blush in my pj’s in front of people who work for you.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha but then I get to see the blush when you get here.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……….sneaky.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha no.  Didn’t plan it.  But I’m glad it happened.  Now hurry up.  We’re running out of time.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha okay.  See you in a sec.

 

 

Stark1:  Okay.  Love you.

 

 

 

 

~tbc~

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Paisley15

     /  January 21, 2014

    You know, I think this might be my favorite out of all the texting chapters. This… is amazing. I honestly and truly love it.

    Reply
  2. Sashaya

     /  January 21, 2014

    Awww. I’m melting. Purrfect. (I would pay to see Clint’s face after Pepper yelled at him. Hope Jarvis recorded it for Tony ^^)

    Reply
  3. fuzzyelf76

     /  January 25, 2014

    Love the fluffy cute ones. This one was particularly adorable. I can just picture Pepper yelling at Clint and Clint looking like a deer in the headlights like, “What did I do?” ! Hilarious! So cute.

    Reply
  4. Windstorm124

     /  January 27, 2014

    I agree with fuzzyelf. The look on Clint’s face would’ve been hilarious. I keep meaning to ask, and the chapter reminded me. You keep mentioning the press conference, but I don’t remember reading about it in any of your stories. Is it unpublished, on a different website, or unwritten? Or did I miss it? Cause I’d really like to know what happened (grins).

    Reply
    • There’s a story called ‘Tabloids’ and its in there. The conference itself hasn’t yet been written but that story explains it all.^^

      Reply
      • Windstorm124

         /  January 27, 2014

        Thanks for getting back to me. I’ll go check it out. Are you planning on ever writing out the conference, or is it just going to be something that stays unwritten? Either way is fine, I’m just curious. 🙂

      • Oh it will definitely be written. That’s a huge moment in their relationship (not sure if you’ve read it yet so I’m staying vague lol). Just not sure when.

      • Windstorm124

         /  January 28, 2014

        Cool! I can’t wait to read it.

  5. cutsycat

     /  February 5, 2014

    They are so cute. Love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

