There and Back Again: drabble

Tony and Clint both love the works of J.R.R Tolkien.  But when the first part of ‘The Hobbit’ comes out, Tony has some doubts.

(This is based on me, freaking out this morning over whether it will suck or not.  Yep.  I’m a sad individual.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Tony?”

Clint pushed open the door to Tony’s office.  Tony was sitting at his computer, his back to the door, reading some sort of article with photos too small for Clint to make out from that distance.  “Hey, Tony.  Whatcha reading?”

“Reviews.”

Clint moved closer, peering at the computer screen.  He could see the images clearer now, photos from ‘The Hobbit’ accompanying the text Tony was reading.  “Oh……reviews for ‘The Hobbit?”  He smiled, leaning in to kiss Tony’s cheek.  Tolkien was a love they both shared.  “Ready to see it tonight?”  Tony’s only response was a whine that could only be described as anguished.  Clint was surprised.  “What…..what’s that for?”

Tony ran his hands through his hair, the picture of frustration.  “I haven’t read one good review for it.  Not one.”

“I thought you didn’t read reviews.”

“No…..YOU don’t read reviews.  I read them….I just don’t rely on them.”

Clint shook his head, smiling, and turned the chair around so Tony was facing him; he kicked a leg over Tony, sitting astride him, settling in his lap.  “If you don’t rely on them, why are you getting so worked up?”

“Because it’s TOLKIEN!  I don’t want them to mess this up!”

“They’re not gonna mess it up.”

There was a moment’s pause and then “ Cliiiiiiiiiiiiint!”  Tony whined out the name.

“Oh my God, what?”

“TOLKIEN!”

“…….I worry about you watching this.”

That made Tony smile.  “I’ll behave.  I promise.”  He paused, chewing his lower lip.  “……what if they DO mess it up?”

Clint shook his head.  “They can’t.  Even if the storyline is all weird and different, they’re still killing things with arrows.  That’s awesome.”

Tony just shook his head.  “Weirdo.”

“Yup.”  Clint glanced over Tony’s shoulder at the screen, looking at the images of the dwarves and Bilbo, fighting with swords and axes.  “…….y’know though……there aren’t as many arrows in this one.  Tony, where are the archers?”

Tony let out a little snort of amusement.  “Clint, dwarves don’t fight with bows.”

“….well, they SHOULD.”

“That would look ridiculous.”

“YOU look ridiculous.”  Clint gave Tony a poke.  “Freaking out over a movie.”

“Hey!  That book is really important to me!  Dad read it to me when I was a little kid!”

That gave Clint pause.  He knew Tony didn’t have many good memories of his dad.  It made more sense now that Tony would be extremely connected to this book, would worry about the film not doing the book justice.  He didn’t want Tony to worry.

“When you were a little kid, huh?”

Tony nodded.  “Yea.”

Clint smiled.  “….so, what……….fifty years ago?”

“……..I hate you.”  But Tony didn’t look upset anymore, and that made Clint feel better.  He laughed, giving Tony a kiss.  Tony wasn’t even trying to pretend he was upset by the words; he pulled Clint to him, pressing closer into the kiss, and he was smiling when they separated.  “I love you.”

Clint laughed.  “Oh?  I thought you hated me.”

“Eh, I can do both.”

“Oh really?”

“Yup.  Really.”  Tony heaved a huge sigh.

“…..what.  What’s that for?”

“Nothing.  Just……..”  There was a moment’s pause.  “……what if it DOES suck?”

“Hmm.  If it sucks?”  Clint asked.  Tony nodded; Clint trailed his fingers through Tony’s hair, down his cheek.  “Well, then we forget about the movie and make out in the back row like teenagers.”

Tony laughed.   “Teenagers, huh.”

“Yup.  Teenagers.”

“Hmm.”  Tony leaned in, lips almost brushing Clint’s as he murmured “…I think I can handle that.”

 

 

~fin~

 

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. KattyRosie

     /  December 14, 2012

    Geeky Clint and Tony Rule. 😀

    Reply
  2. sabrina

     /  December 14, 2012

    ahahahahaha! this is too funny! i completely understand their dilemma, thats how i feel about any movie i see that is based off of a book that i like/love (an example – Harry Potter 3….destroyed that book, decent special effects).

    Reply
  3. paisley15

     /  December 14, 2012

    I love this so much! Where would this be in their relationship, since Clint was so openly affectionate?

    Oh and sabrina? Are you saying that you like the movie but the special effects could’ve been better or are you saying that the movie was terrible but the special effects were okay?

    Reply
    • This can take place anywhere in the current storyline. I mean, I think they’re being this affectionate in “Compliment Unicorn” and that was one of the more recently posted, even if it’s older. I recently put all the stories in order of when they were written and am trying to post them like that, oldest to newest. But this can pretty much fit in whenever. If I post something REALLY old where affection/what have you would be somewhat out of place still, I’ll write a note.^^
      Sorry for the long-winded explanation! Lol

      Reply
      • paisley15

         /  December 14, 2012

        It’s fine! I prefer long explanations to short ones that barely explain anything. XD

    • sabrina

       /  December 15, 2012

      Prisoner is my favorite Potter book and that movie was a disappointment, they left out so much, but the special effects were pretty cool lol

      Reply
      • LOL that’s my favorite book and actually the only one of the movies that I truly like. They really did change so much of the storyline, but to me it felt like the first of the films where the director loosened the reins and sort of let the characters breathe, for lack of a better term. And I felt it gave the third movie more life than the others had. Plus….Gary Oldman? Nuff said.

      • sabrina

         /  December 15, 2012

        i’ll give you Gary Oldman lol! the marauder’s map and its history is so great and they didn’t explain any of it really…plus leaving out the huge fight between the golden trio drove me a bit nuts. plus, remus was not what i was picturing at all 🙂

      • OMG that’s the biggest complaint I ever hear is about the wolf, but honestly, I thought that thing was AMAZING. It’s like, the creepy deranged spider werewolf! It had long spidery legs and it was creepy as fuck! Damn, man! I LOVE that thing!

      • paisley15

         /  December 15, 2012

        RIGHT??!! That is not what a werewolf looks like, but it’s just SO AWESOME.

      • sabrina

         /  December 15, 2012

        my mistake, i didn’t mean Moony, I meant Remus. the actor who played him was so far from what i pictured that i was surprised. he is described as being a handsome man, but tired and worn down. i always imagined someone more like Ewan McGregor for Remus. but honestly, when do people love everyone cast for a big movie? there will always be disappointment somewhere. Now Moony was pretty awesome.

      • You know what was weird to me? That actor (whose name is escaping me) looks EXACTLY like how I pictured Remus when he doesn’t have the facial hair. When he was first cast, I saw his photo, sans the mustache, and was like “OMG IT’S LUPIN!” And then the film came out and I was like “wtf. Not the same at ALL.”

  4. Backlash

     /  December 14, 2012

    This is how I felt when I saw the commercial. :/ I was like “DON’T. MESS. UP. THIS. MOVIE.”

    Don’t have the money to see it yet, but as soon as I do I’m going to go see it. XD

    TOLKIEN. :3

    Reply
    • I just got home from seeing it, and I think they did a decent job. There were changes made that were unnecessary, and some of them were for the worse, but for the most part, I didn’t mind the changes. Radagast the Brown in particular was an enjoying bit to be inserted, but I’m imagining a lot of diehards will not enjoy it because he is BONKERS.
      I hope you enjoy it when you see it!

      Reply
  5. fuzzyelf

     /  December 15, 2012

    I always get nervous when a book I love gets made into a movie. Ususally I end up liking it but the movies never seem to be as good as the books to me (I think because I just picture things differently in my head) but it is always nice to see the book from someone elses point of view. I will hopefully get to see the Hobbit this weekend (not sure yet). Hopefully I will like it.

    Reply
    • paisley15

       /  December 15, 2012

      I’m the same way with the whole ‘picturing things in my head and then being disappointed’ thing. The Eragon movie was completely different, which, as irritating as it is, the butchered plotline doesn’t get on my nerves HALF AS MUCH as Arya’s appearance. SHE’S AN ELF WITH WAIST-LENGTH, STRAIGHT, BLACK HAIR, GREEN EYES, AND POINTED EARS!!!!!!! The actress had curly, red hair that went just below her shoulders and they didn’t even bother with the ears. And don’t even get me started on the Percy Jackson movie. I refuse to think about the unspeakable things they did to the plot but I will complain about Chiron. He’s a freakin’ centaur! His horsey side is all special effects anyway, the least you can do is make it the right color!

      Sorry for the rant. 😛 I got carried away.

      Reply
      • sabrina

         /  December 15, 2012

        I completely agree with Percy Jackson…so many changes. Did you happen to see the Golden Compass? That is a movie that was not done justice with the material provided from the book.

      • That book is fantabulous, and was perfectly cast, but yea. Kinda a letdown.

  6. paisley15

     /  December 15, 2012

    I haven’t seen the movir OR read the book… What’s it about?

    Reply
    • sabrina

       /  December 15, 2012

      the Golden Compass is the 1st book in His Dark Materials. its been awhile since i’ve read the book but its an awesome series. all of the characters have deamons (their souls in animal form, connected to them, a lifetime companion). its a young-adult fantasy type book. there are different worlds/dimensions that are crossed. in Lyra’s world (the main character), children are going missing, being snatched and she is determined to find out what is going on. i recommend the series to read if you like fantasy type books.

      Reply
      • Yup. AMAZING.
        Phillip Pullman just wrote a a retelling of the Grimm’s faerie tales. We just got it in at the library and I am SO PSYCHED to read it. Just have to finish making my way through ‘Game of Thrones’. Which all fantasy fans should read, stat.

      • paisley15

         /  December 15, 2012

        Fantasy is my absolute favorite and now, I guess, I have some more books on my reading list.
        😀

        Has anyone, by chance, read any of the Mortal Instruments books, or the Vampire Academy series? I’ve only read the first in both of them but they’re fantastic.

      • I haven’t read them, but you want an interesting read? The author of the Mortal Instruments books, Cassandra Claire, used to be a humble live journal author who wrote one of the greatest things I’ve ever read, The Very Secret Diaries of the Lord of the Rings Characters. She wrote a journal for each character from the LotR, and it is HILARIOUS. The link is here http://www.ealasaid.com/misc/vsd/
        Everyone should read them. Seriously. I don’t know how many times I’ve read them and I still die laughing every time.

  7. Caro

     /  December 15, 2012

    I can really connect to the way Tony feels about that movie. I feel like that everytime I watch a film that’s based on a book. The Golden Compass is one of them and when I watched it, I was like “What the hell is that?!” I am in love with the books, but the movie? o.O
    But I try to seperate books and their movies now. It’s easier that way because I can complain about that a lot when I started. So now, I try not t think about the book when I watch the movie.

    @paisley: Yeah, I’ve read every book of Vampire Academy. Loved the first two or three, but after a while, Rose was getting on my nerves… I still like the story and the idea the books are based on though, just the prota annoys me.

    Reply
  8. Tabby

     /  January 1, 2013

    Brilliant as always 🙂 I hope The Hobbit doesn’t suck. I’m really connected to those books just as I am to Harry Potter.

    Reply
    • I thought it was pretty good. There were more changes than I would’ve liked, but for the most part, they weren’t terrible ones.

      Reply
  9. Windstorm124

     /  February 21, 2014

    I really like this drabble, and I understand some of Tony’s worry. I have a friend who is completely obsessed with Tolkien (I’m not, I’m sorry, but he’s a little too long-winded for my tastes. And I had a glimpse of the first Lord of the Rings when I was nine and the riders gave me nightmares for weeks) and she is freaking out about the movie.

    Reply
    • Lol yea, that’s where this came from. I’m OBSESSED, have been since fourth grade, and when the first ‘Hobbit’ film was coming out, I was texting with J2, totally freaking out, and she said “I worry about you seeing this film”. And we had already decided from another text, I think one that’s not posted yet, that the two love LotR, so it sparked this idea for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

