The Five Dreams of Tony Stark: Chapter 1

This is a takeoff on a comic by Marvel, ‘The Five Nightmares of Tony Stark’.  I decided to write a five part story, five little drabbles.  I was originally going to post it all as one story, but I think I’ll give it to you in five parts.^^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Is something wrong with that robot?”

Tony looked up to see which robot Clint was referring to.  “….many things.”

“Why do you keep it around.”

“Mostly sentiment.  It was one of the first I built.  Also, it saved my life.”

“What?”

Tony told Clint how Obadiah Stane had ripped the arc reactor from his chest, how he had stumbled his way to the lab, going into cardiac arrest, and while on the floor, on the verge of passing out, the normally clumsy robot had been there to hand him the spare arc reactor that saved his life.

As Tony told the story, Clint’s eyes widened, a sick feeling in his heart as he thought of how close he had come to never knowing Tony at all.  He gave the robot another look, new appreciation in his eyes.

“…..yeah, never get rid of that robot.”

And Tony smiled.

 

~tbc~

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Tabby

     /  October 29, 2012

    Oh, that’s just beautiful! Clint feels for the poor clumsy robot! *sigh* So romantic…Clint/Tony, not Clint and the robot lol. On a random side note, I almost feel bad for describing your work using the words “simply amazing” and “just beautiful”. I get a weird feeling that it’s insulting somehow, or that could just be me being weird 😛

    Reply
    • How would that be insulting? That’s wonderful! Thank you!

      Someone on tumblr writes fanfic of Coulson and the robot. I do not know where they got that from, but it troubles me. o.O

      Reply
  2. sabrina

     /  October 29, 2012

    that robot it awesome and it can never be gone! glad clint understands how awesome he is for saving tony even if he does mess up stuff all the time (which i always enjoy seeing/reading about lol) can’t wait to see the next chapters for this! 🙂

    Reply
    • I know, I love that robot. Every time I watch Iron Man, those scenes still crack me up. Especially when he tells it if it sprays him, he’ll donate it to a city college. It looks so depressed lol.

      Reply
  3. KattyRosie

     /  October 29, 2012

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!! It’s so sweet! And I loves it.

    Reply
  4. fuzzyelf

     /  October 29, 2012

    Tony could never get rid of any of his robots. He loves them to much. It is so cute. I remember the first time I saw the movie and Dummy sprayed him with the fire extinguisher, I just could not stop laughing! I think it’s awesome that all of his robots have their own personalities! I look forward to the next chapter.

    Reply
  5. paisley15

     /  October 29, 2012

    Dummy is awesome! I wonder what Clint would do if he ever met Justin Hammer…

    I wonder what Clint’s reaction would be to the waterboarding. Does he already know?

    Reply
  6. Caro

     /  October 30, 2012

    Awwww, that’s cute 🙂 I love Dummy, he’s adorable with his fire extinguisher. And though Tony is like: “When you’re there, I alway feel like I could catch fire… spontaneously,” (or something like that, I can’t quite remember) he loves Dummy nonetheless.

    Reply
  7. Topazione

     /  November 6, 2012

    ahh, short and sweet (and as usual, amazing) – exactly what i need to calm me down right now 🙂

    Reply
  8. Tala

     /  May 15, 2013

    Okay, that’s just cute ^^ Clint now likes little Dummy that saved Tony’s live ^^

    Reply
  9. Windstorm124

     /  January 14, 2014

    I feel like I’m quoting everyone who already reviewed, but I agree; this story is adorable and amazing. I have a similar question to someone else who reviewed; does Clint know about everything that happened in Afghanistan? And if he doesn’t could you….. maybe….. please have a story where Tony tells him or something? Please? (I feel like I’m being incredibly rude to request this, but…. Your writing is so brilliant, and wonderful on so many levels, that reading that story by someone as talented as you would make my month, let alone my day.)

    Reply
    • He would have known a lot of what happened, having worked at SHIELD, but any real details would’ve had to be conveyed to him by Tony. And I really should write a story about that, because I do love me some angst. It’s just a matter of when. I have over 130 text chapters on my computer right now, that’s not counting the second chapters I’m working on. J2 and I really should slow down lol but we pretty much text nonstop.
      But it WILL happen eventually, and they DO discuss the basics of it in several stories.
      I have to thank you so much for all your reviews. I can’t tell you how much they meant to me and how good they made me feel. Hearing things like this just encourage me and make me want to write more, so seriously, I cannot thank you enough.

      Reply
      • Windstorm124

         /  January 15, 2014

        Thank YOU for writing these brilliant masterpieces, and for sending me the link. I honestly can’t thank you enough for that. Keep it up!

  1. The Five Dreams of Tony Stark: Archery Terms | nuwandasnicket

Leave a Reply

