Greenland: Chapter 1

Sometimes, freezing your butt off isn’t such a bad thing.

Established relationship, Tony Stark/Clint Barton.  First chapter in text format, second chapter in story format.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Hawkeye58:  Hey, Tony.  Ever been to Greenland?  Cuz the name is very misleading….

 

 

Stark1:  HAHA!  Yea, it is.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Seriously.  This place sucks.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha.  Sorry.  It’s nice for a visit.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Maybe.  I’ve only been able to see the cold and snowy as fuck bits so far.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha well a lot of it is like that.  But when you’re in control of how long you’re out in it and WHERE you’re out in it, it can be nice.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah……you’ll have to show me some time…..given I ever want to come back.  Ever.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Should I bring you a scarf and some mittens?  Some hot chocolate?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  You know, I would LOVE that.  I don’t even care if it’s a bizarre scarf and mittens.  But Coulson won’t even let me wear the hat you bought me, even though it’s like….a hundred times warmer than the stupid thing they gave me.

 

 

Stark1:  ……you brought the hat I got you?  That’s……kind of adorable.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Shut up.  It’s warm.

And.  It makes me happy.

 

 

Stark1:  ……..stop making me sappy.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You started it.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Good.  I like making you sappy.  It feels like a huge accomplishment.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Freaking over-achiever.  Ruining my reputation, here.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Hey, its not like I tell anyone else.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  True.  Not that I really think it would matter.  These guys know better than to pick a fight with me, regardless.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha.  Big tough man.  Still, I feel the more I shared, the less likely you’d open up to me.  Don’t want that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well.  Okay.  Yeah, probably.  So.  Thanks.  For understanding.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  No problem.  I know I’m an obnoxious asshole.  But I like to think I can be understanding when I need to be.  When it’s important.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  You can.  And you are about this and I really appreciate that.  I was worried at first that you wouldn’t be.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea?  Heh.  Not surprised.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Sorry.  I mean….I just didn’t know.  But I’m glad I didn’t have to worry.

……so are there bears in Greenland?

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Don’t have to apologize.  I don’t come across as very trustworthy.  And as to the bears, honestly, I don’t know.  I didn’t ever spend much time looking for them.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh……well, I’m glad I get to know the other side of Tony Stark.

And that is either a bear or my target, wearing a much warmer coat than me.  Bastard.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  You’re one of the only people.  Maybe two or three others.  And please…..don’t get eaten.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Hahaha.  I’ll try.  Don’t think it’s close enough.  Bear, or target.  Besides, I’m well hidden.  Unless it IS a bear and maybe it can smell me.

 

 

Stark1:  ……yea.  Don’t get eaten.  I’m confidant you won’t, with all your badassery, but still……don’t.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Don’t worry.  I don’t plan on letting nature take me down anytime soon.

 

 

Stark1:  Thanks.  I’d appreciate that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.  Besides, I’d always kinda figured gravity might have a hand in my demise….not so much giant predators.

 

 

Stark1:  ……..yea.  Don’t do that, either.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I’ve taken many precautions.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?  Such as?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……okay, the grappler arrow might actually be the only one.  But it’s a good one.

 

 

Stark1:  ………………..

 

 

Hawkeye58:  And I usually have a harness if it’s gonna be a long stake out or something.

 

 

Stark1:  ……….and you give ME a hard time?

 

 

Hawkeye58:   ……do I?

 

 

Stark1:  Um, YEA.  All the time.  My eating habits are shitty, I don’t sleep, I don’t take care of the plate in my chest.  And that’s not even touching on battle-related shit.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Well, all of those are true.

 

 

Stark1:  Tch.  Says you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Says me.  And Pepper.  And probably Rhodey.  And any number of people I can ask, I’m sure.

 

 

Stark1:  …………I do fine.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Not saying you don’t.  But you have to admit it’s because you’ve got people to remind you when you haven’t eaten.  Or slept.

 

 

Stark1:  I survived before I met Pepper.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  A miracle.  Hey.  I’m not saying you can’t…..just pointing out you rarely seem to.

 

 

Stark1:  …………I really want to yell at you about jumping off buildings.  But I have a bad record with that with Loki.

Oh.  Um.  Scratch that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ………..you jumped off buildings with Loki?

 

 

Stark1:  ………ah……kind of?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What the hell is ‘kind of’?  What happened?  I mean, obviously you lived, but still…..

 

 

Stark1:   ……we went tandem parasailing together, didn’t I tell you?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Tony, I swear to God.  What the fuck happened?

 

 

Stark1:  Hey, it was the only way to get a replacement suit!  I mean, in the end, he kind of threw me, but I needed that suit!

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What the hell.  What if you hadn’t of been able to get the suit?

 

 

Stark1:  ………then I would’ve gone splat.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  That……yeah.  Don’t let that happen.  Again.  Ever.  If you can help it.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey, it’s my tech.  It worked.  I knew it was going to work.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……..okay.  Good.  God damn.  Loki’s a bastard.

 

 

Stark1:  You think?  Hey.  I’m sorry.  I got there before everyone else, I had to do something.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  I know.  Sorry I didn’t get us there sooner.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey.  Don’t.  That’s not your fault.  The suit is fast.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  But I was still slow.  Hell.  Barely got there and Loki shot us down.  I usually fly much better than that. It was embarrassing.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha hey.  Also not your fault.  He had the scepter.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Wasn’t much different from anti-aircraft missiles……only more blue.  And magic.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey.  It’s okay.  Stop beating yourself up.  Nobody’s perfect.  But you’re pretty damn close.  Be content with that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Thanks.  I actually think I needed to hear that.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea?  I’m sorry.  I didn’t mean to upset you.  But good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Nah.  It’s okay.  Like I said.  Obviously, everything turned out okay.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea but I don’t like when you’re upset.  No matter what.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Don’t be silly.  It never lasts.  Usually.  And hey.  If I am, now I have you to help make it better.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh yea.  That’s my job.

……but seriously, careful with jumping off buildings.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I am.  Promise.  I even look before I go over them now.

 

 

Stark1:  ……..once again, I’d really like to yell at you, but I have done a lot of equally stupid shit, so……yea.  Keep looking.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Okay.  We’ll strike a deal.  We’re not allowed to tell each other not to do the stupid shit that we know the other will do regardless…..but we’re allowed to worry.  And yell.  Sound good?

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Sounds good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Good.

…..it was a bear, by the way.  Target’s still a no-show.  Probably smarter than SHIELD and staying out of the cold.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha.  What are you wearing?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Tactical winter gear.  Kinda like ski gear.  And a tarp.

 

 

Stark1:  What color?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Grey and white….mostly white.  Some black.

 

 

Stark1:  …..so if I got a hat and stuff that match and blend in and brought it to you, you think Coulson would let you wear it?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Huh.  Don’t know.  He might.  Though I’m hoping I get lucky.  This guy shows up.  I shoot him and go home.

 

 

Stark1:  So should I just sit tight, then?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Ha.  I don’t wanna make you come out in the cold if I’m just gonna be leaving.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Okay.  Well, where’re you going after this?  When am I going to see you?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  After this.  Back to debrief and defrost.  Then I’m good for a couple days.

 

 

Stark1:  You still gonna be there in Greenland, though?  Cuz I can always come warm you up.  😉

 

 

Hawkeye58:  For the debrief.  I was hoping to catch a ride home after.  Done with Greenland.

…..think I’d still like you to warm me up, though.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, I’ll always be ready to do that.  Always.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  That’s something nice for me to think about.

 

 

Stark1:  Good.  Think about any and all ways you’d like me to do it.  I aim to please.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh, do you.  Also good to know.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  I’d hope you know that already.  But yea.  For you I do.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well.  Only if I can return the favor, then.

Ha.  Awesome.  Coulson said we have movement on the target.  Which means job’ll be done soon.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?  Good.  Good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Very good.  Should reach my line of sight within the hour.

 

 

Stark1:  ………..I can’t imagine how you don’t lose your mind out there.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Not so bad.  I try to rile up Coulson over the comm most of the time.  That’s always fun.  And now I can talk to you.  You know.  When the phone won’t give me away.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Guess that’s something.  I could never handle it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Well.  That’s why you don’t.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha.  Yea.  And cuz I grew up spoiled and rich with a dad quite insistent I became involved in science.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Yeah.  I didn’t think it’d be something I’d get into but I didn’t have too many options.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, you’re awesome at it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, yeah.  I’m awesome.  And it did attract SHIELD’s attention so, yeah.  Good thing, or I wouldn’t have gotten to meet you.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, obviously I’m the best part.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Obviously.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.

Damn, this dude is slow.  Come on.  Get here faster, already.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  How frozen are you right now?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Pretty damn frozen.  I think I could probably confuse advanced heat sensing equipment.

 

 

Stark1:  …..that’s no good.  Get your ass inside soon.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Soon.  Couple minutes.  Gotta make this shot or freezing my ass off was for nothing.

 

 

Stark1:  You better not literally freeze it off.  I’m rather fond of your ass.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Me too.  Damn, this mission sucks.  I can’t even use my bow.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  You really get off on that thing.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I have more control over it.  Guns, once you aim, that’s pretty much it.  Straight shot.  Same impact.  And they’re more annoying to clean.

 

 

Stark1:  Mm.  And not as sexy.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Yeah.  That too.

Oh, freaking hell, finally.  Okay.  Gonna take this shot.  Head back to base, then hopefully be on my way home.

 

 

Stark1:  …..okay.  See you soon.  😉

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Yeah.  Hopefully the debrief won’t go long and I’ll only be a few hours.

 

 

Stark1:  ……few hours at the debrief, or does that include travel time?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Travel time.  I think all things considered I was very well behaved this mission, so the debrief should only take half an hour.  Ha okay.  Cold joints, not fun.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Wouldn’t think so.  Be ready for me to warm you up.  Gonna do a really damn good job of it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You don’t know how good that sounds right now.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  I would imagine it does.  Try and hurry back to your room, okay?  Want you to get warmed up.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Trust me.  I’m not taking my time.  Don’t know if the room’s gonna be any warmer than the rest of the place, though.

 

 

Stark1:  Mm.  Might be surprised.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha why?  You ask em to turn up the heat?  Ha.  Oh man.  Never thought I’d be so happy to be back at base.

 

 

Stark1:  I’d imagine.  Okay.  You go debrief.

…..for the moment, I’m going to ignore how inappropriate that sounded.  Go get it done so you can warm up.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Okay.  Miss you.  See you in a couple hours.  Probably bug you during the trip though, anyway.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha!  Looking forward to it.  Love you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Love you too.

 

 

 

~tbc~

 

 

 

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. KattyRosie

     /  September 16, 2012

    I’d love Tony to be waiting in his room somehow. LOL.

    Reply
  2. fuzzyelf

     /  September 16, 2012

    I agree. I think Mr. Stark may want to suprise one Agent Barton in his room. It would be so Tony to just be there and be all “Suprise, I’m Tony Stark and I am in your room!” LOL

    Reply
  3. sabrina

     /  September 16, 2012

    it would probably bug coulson if he was there too which is always a good time! looking forward to the next chapter!

    Reply
  4. Caro

     /  September 16, 2012

    Someone’s been busy,heh? Can’t say how much I love you right now!
    And I agree: Tony should sit there to warm Clint up 🙂
    Can’t wait for the next chapter!

    Reply
    • There’s well over 40 of these first chapters saved to my computer, so yes, I’ve been VERY busy lol. I’ve just been trying to finish the ones that are posted before I start posting new ones. But there are so many piling up that I decided to post a couple new ones that I thought I could finish relatively quickly.

      Reply
      • Caro

         /  September 17, 2012

        Well, you could just post all of them, you know? 😉 I don’t think any of us would mind. At least I wouldn’t, but I’m kind of addicted, so that probably isn’t as much a good indicator as I would like it to be 😉
        You mostly post in the middle of the night (in my point of view), so I can always read them before school. Perfect start 🙂 Wakes me up better than my alarm and coffee.

    • Well one or two people have mentioned before that having too many first chapters gets frustrating, which is why I’ve been trying to finish them all first.

      Reply
  5. Weeellllll the next chapter is about 50% finished (this story’s been mostly done for quite a few months now), so you’ll all find out soon, won’t you? 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

