Magic Hands: Chapter 2

.  “….so………how bad is it?”

                Tony was silent.  That wasn’t a good sign.  It was, if anything, an indicator that he was probably about to lie. 

Link to chapter 1:  https://nuwandasnicket.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/magic-hands-chapter-1/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When Clint reached the house (their house….God, he still couldn’t get used to that), it was dead silent inside.  “…..Tony?”  There was no response, and immediately he began to worry.  “……Tony?”

He found the man curled up in a ball on one of the many sofas in the living room.  “….hey…” he crouched down beside the couch.  “…..Tony.”

“Mm?”  Tony stirred at the touch of Clint’s hand on his hair.  “….oh.  Hey.”

“Hey.  How’s your head?”

“Horrible.”

“Awesome.  Come on.  Let’s get you to bed, and I’ll work on your back.”

“Mm.”  Tony sat up slowly, blinking up at Clint with a sleepy smile.  “…..you’re the best.  Anyone ever tell you that?”

“I tell myself that every day, actually.”

Tony burst out laughing, but he winced at the action, a hand going to his head.  “Motherfucker.”  But he looked up at Clint.  “……you’re an ass.”

“Yeah, yeah.  Come on.  We need to get you to bed.”

For once, Tony didn’t take the opportunity to make a dirty joke out of Clint’s comment.  He nodded.  “Yea.”  He even allowed Clint to help him to his feet.  “Thanks.”

They headed down the hallway together.  “….so……these hallucinations……how bad are they?”

Tony was silent.  That wasn’t a good sign.  It was, if anything, an indicator that he was probably about to lie.  “……they’re not too bad.”

“…Tony….”

“Seriously.  There’s like……..stuff.”

There was a long silence as Clint waited for more, but Tony just stared back at him, and it became apparent that nothing more was forthcoming.  “……wow.  Okay.  That was incredibly specific.  How about you explain a bit more?”

“It’s really not a big deal…”

“Tony, tell me what the hell is going on or you’re not getting a massage.”

Tony stared, but Clint just stared defiantly back.  “…………you jerk.”

“Yup.  Now, take your shirt off, get on the bed, and start talking.  No talking, no massage.”

Tony pouted, but did as he was told.  “You suck.” The words were muffled by his shirt as he pulled it over his head, where it got stuck.

“Yup.”  Clint grabbed the shirt, carefully disentangling Tony, and tossed it to the floor.  “On your stomach.”

Tony carefully crawled onto the bed, facedown.  It was clear that he was in pain.  Clint climbed onto the mattress beside Tony, kneeling over him.  “Okay.  Talk.”

Tony heaved a sigh.  “Fine.”  There was a long silence, but he did start talking.  “It’s like…….these things.  Sort of like spiders.  They just sort of skitter around, climb around on the walls, the ceiling.  I mean, they’re not in the way, you know?  So I just ignore them.”

“……Tony……just because they’re not in the way doesn’t mean they’re not a problem.”

“What?  They’re not bothering me.”

“They’re still not good for you!”

“Neither is this headache!  And you said if I told you what was going on then you’d fix my neck!”

Clint shook his head, exasperated, but he kicked a leg over Tony’s waist, seating himself gently above the man’s hips, and began gently massaging the knots in his back, immediately eliciting a moan.

“Fuck.  Oh my God, Clint.”

“….okay?”

“Yea.  Fuck yea.  Oh my God you don’t know how good that feels.”

Clint smiled.  “Told you I have magic hands.”

“Yea, I totally believe you.”

Clint continued working on Tony’s back, feeling the knots there, and he frowned.  “Oh my God.”

“….what?”

“Your back is a fucking train wreck.  It’s like one big knot!  Have you EVER seen a chiropractor?  Any kind of doctor?  How do you LIVE?! “

“……uh….”

“Holy hell.”

“Sorry!”

“You don’t have to apologize to ME!  But geez.  No wonder you’ve got a headache.  Motherfucking hell, Tony.  Go see a doctor.”

“Why?  I’ve got you and your magic hands.”

That made Clint laugh.  “Yeah.  You do.  But this is a totally different story.  I don’t know if my Magic Hands are a match for your Horrific Back.”

“Hey!”

Clint just laughed.  “What?  I’m sorry!  You’re a mess.  I may be magic, but I’m not a professional.  I’d have to work on you for like, a full week before I could sort this mess out.”

Tony made some sort of grumbling sound.  “Whatever.  I’ll take whatever you wanna do.  Don’t wanna see any doctor.  You’re more than enough for me.”

Clint smiled, but he shook his head.  “You’re crazy, you know that?  Doesn’t that hurt?”  He gently pressed his thumb against one of the knots, immediately stopping as Tony let out a little noise.

“No.  I mean, yea but….good kinda hurt.”

Clint just shook his head.  “You’re seeing a doctor.”

“Motherfucker.”

“Tony, if you’re going to continue staying up all damn night, hunched over in your lab, not eating or sleeping, at least I can make sure you get your back sorted out.  You’ll just fuck it right up all over again, but still.  It could help.”

Tony heaved another sigh.  “Fine.  Only cuz I love you.”

Clint laughed.  “That’s fine.  I’ll take it.”  He leaned in, pressing a kiss right in between Tony’s shoulder blades, making the man hum happily.  “How’s your head?”

“Still a bit achey.  But better.  Much better.”

“That’s good.”  He ran his fingers through Tony’s hair, gently teasing his fingertips over the man’s scalp, lightly massaging, and Tony moaned.

“Fuck.  That feels good.”

“Good.”  Clint continued, one hand in Tony’s hair, the other working on his neck.  “…..so……any other hallucinations you wanna tell me about?”

“…….not really.”

“…….not really as in there aren’t any or not really as in you don’t wanna talk about it?”

“………not really.”

“Dammit, Tony.”  He rolled off of Tony, flopping onto the bed beside the other man.  “You have to…..look at me, dammit.”  Tony turned to face Clint, the look in those brown eyes for all the world just like a little kid who knew he was about to get yelled at.  “You need to take better care of yourself.”

“Look who’s talking.”

“We’re not talking about me right now.  If I start hallucinating or something equally stupid, you get to yell at me, okay?  But right now, I get to yell at you.  Get some sleep, eat something, and I’ll leave you alone.”

“…..well, that doesn’t really make me wanna do it, then.  I don’t WANT you to leave me alone.”

“Goddammit, Tony, you know what I mean!”

“I know, I know, I’m sorry.  I’m kidding, you know that.”

Clint just shook his head.  “You are SUCH a pain in the ass, you know that?”

Tony smiled.  “Yup.  And you love me.”

Clint sighed.  “God help me.”

“Nope.  No help for you now.”  Tony shifted closer, an arm slipping about Clint.  “You’re stuck with me now.”

“Hnn.”  Clint smiled, stroking Tony’s hair.  “I think I’m okay with that.”

“Even though I’m a pain in the ass?”

“Ha.  Yeah.”  He poked Tony, tapping the tip of his nose.  “But you’re GOING to sleep.  Got it?”

“Fine, fine.”

“And I’m staying here to make sure you do.”

“……you don’t TRUST me?”

“Not at all.”

“I’m WOUNDED.”

“Shut the hell up, you are not.”  Clint pulled Tony closer to him.  “Now, are you going to behave, or do I need to tie you down?”

“…….I don’t think that’s the way to get me to sleep.  I think that’ll just get me all riled up and misbehaving.”

Clint sighed.  “You’re such a pervert.”

“You know it.  Nah.  Just stay here and hold me, and I’ll do my best.  Okay?”

“Yeah.”  Clint smiled.  “I can do that.  C’mere.”

Smiling, Tony snuggled into Clint’s arms.  “I…….thanks.”

“….for what?”

“For coming over to help me out.  For caring.”

Clint almost gave Tony the usual swat to the back of the head, only at the last moment remembering the headache and catching himself just in time.  “Of course I care, you idiot!”

“How many times do we have to go over this?  I’m a genius.”

“An idiot.  I care about you.  And I’m always going to take care of you.  SOMEONE has to.  Clearly YOU never will.”

“Oi.  Shut up.”

“I’ll only shut up if it means you go to sleep.”

“Well, then, that’s reason enough for me.”

“Hey!” Clint laughed.  “Asshole!”

“You know it.”  Tony leaned up, kissing Clint softly.  “….I love you.”

“I love you too.”  Clint stroked his cheek, his soft brown hair.  “Now sleep.”

“Hnn.  Okay.”

“We’re going to talk about these other hallucinations later, okay?”

“……….maybe.”

“Okay, Tony?”

“……..”

“Tony?”

“Tony’s sleeping.”

“Tony, I’m not kidding.”

“…..zzzzzzzzzzz……”

“Tony, you can make fake sleep noises at me all you want, we’re going to talk.”

“Fine!  Whatever, fine, okay.”

“Promise?”

“Promise.”

“Okay.”  Satisfied, Clint kissed Tony’s forehead.  “Now sleep.”

“I WAS asleep.  You woke me up.”

“You were not, you asshole.  You were faking it.”

“I was not.  I was snoring.  Very realistically.”

“Tony?”

“…..yea?”

“…..shut the hell up.  And go to sleep.”

“………okay.”

~fin~

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. redneckmeetsgeek

     /  July 12, 2012

    I adore this Clint taking care of Tony is my favorite!

    Reply
  2. redneckmeetsgeek

     /  July 13, 2012

    Me too 🙂

    Reply
  3. paisley15

     /  October 29, 2012

    Oh yeah, veeeerrrryyy realistically. It’s always been my personal headcannon that Tony hallucinates and doesn’t see a problem with it so this was particularly enjoyable.

    Reply
    • LOL love that! Yea, anything that doesn’t specifically interfere with Tony’s work, like, physically, he just sort of pushes it aside/ignores it, so he can carry on with what he was doing.

      Reply
  4. Windstorm124

     /  January 20, 2014

    (sighs)
    Hallucinations. Never actually had any actually, but I think I’d take Tony’s approach. If it’s not in the way, and not bothering me, I’d just ignore them.
    Well written, and I love it!

    Reply
    • I have. A couple times when I’ve been sick and really tired but unable to sleep, I’ve hallucinated, and it SUCKS. The night I saw the third Matrix film, I was horribly sick and spent the whole night hallucinating that Neo and Mr. Smith were fighting in my bedroom. It was HORRIBLE.

      Reply
      • Windstorm124

         /  January 21, 2014

        Wait…. actually no. I have had a hallucination once, but it was years ago, and I had a ridiculously high fever. But aside from that never.

        And that must have been really weird and disturbing. I’ve never seen any of the Matrix movies (for a long time movies gave me migraines, so I didn’t watch much TV), but having any characters fighting in your bedroom is NOT a fun idea. I’m sorry that happened. Keep writing, and may you not get sick again.

      • Yea it was freshman year of college and luckily I didn’t wake my roommate up, cuz I seriously was like, takling to them, asking them to take their fighting elsewhere lol. It sucked.
        And I have a crap-ton of health issues (I’m on disability and can only work part-time), but they’re currently (for the most part) under control. So thank you very much! We’ll keep our fingers crossed, shall we?

  5. Windstorm124

     /  January 21, 2014

    Oh wow. I’m amazed and inspired that despite all that, you continue to write these amazing stories. (blinks) I hope things get easier for you, and I wish you the best of luck with everything.

    Reply
  1. Nightmares | nuwandasnicket

Leave a Reply

