Postcards and Other Means of (Mis?)Communication: Chapter 1

Time apart always puts a strain on a couple.  The trick is finding ways to work around it, and hoping that life doesn’t throw a curveball your way.  For Clint Barton and Tony Stark, curveballs can be particularly hard to avoid.

Established relationship, Tony Stark/Clint Barton, first chapter in text format, second chapter in story format.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hawkeye58:  Hey Tony.  I’m gonna start sending you postcards.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha yea?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Think it’d be great.  Every time I see some.  Gonna send you one.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh I like that.  Yea.  Like that a lot.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  Great.  Cuz I already started.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh man.  Yea?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Sent two today.  Two different towns.  I saw the first one and thought of you and liked the idea.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Looks like I’m gonna have to buy a scrapbook.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Yeah?  How long you think till it’s filled?

 

 

Stark1:  No idea there.  That would depend on you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Gonna send a ton.  Oh, scrapbook.  I’ll send other stuff too, maybe.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha yea?  This is sounding more and more fun.  Maybe I’ll have to pick up a few.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha yeah?  Hey.  I’m sorry in advance for my awful handwriting and spelling.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?  You can’t spell?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Fuck off.  I can…..just not always well.  Least according to Coulson.  Looks right to me.  Heh.  All my reports have to be typed and spell checked, though.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey, I wasn’t making fun of you.  I’m sorry.  Didn’t mean it to sound that way.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …..yeah.  Sorry.  Kinda bit the bait on that one.

 

 

Stark1:  It’s cool.  Can understand.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, well.  I’m better than I was, I guess.  Nothing for the handwriting.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha yea.

….well, least you don’t spell shit wrong on purpose, like me.  I always got yelled at for writing “yea” instead of “yeah”, and “alright” instead of “all right”.  Which, honestly, only made me want to do it more.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Well.  There’s a few I learned but still do just because Coulson kind of twitches when he reads them.  Like “alot”.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Yea, I’d advise you to keep doing that.  My personal vote, anyway.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh, I do.  Worth it.  He also can’t stand when I say “ain’t”.  That I DID stop doing because he started using the taser.  But it slips ever now and then.

 

 

Stark1:  AHAHA oh man.  You’ve never said that around ME.  Why haven’t you ever said that around me?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Because apparently I’ve been conditioned……I think that’s what you call it…..not to use “white trash” speech patterns.

 

 

Stark1:  Awww.  I’m all sad now.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Haha.  Sorry.  Maybe it’ll slip again.  But I’m not promising anything.

 

 

Stark1:  Dammit.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Sorry to have apparently ruined your day.

….why’s it matter, anyway?

 

 

Stark1:  …………I want to hear you talk like you used to normally talk.  I think it’d be super cute.  Stupid Coulson, making you change.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Well.  Honestly I was pissed at first, too.  But after a bit it kinda made sense.  Now at least people don’t automatically assume I’m an uneducated bastard.

 

 

Stark1:  That’s stupid.  It shouldn’t matter what people think.  You do your job better than the rest of those assholes at SHIELD.  Who cares what you talk like.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Glad you think so.  No one else really important cared.  Least, important to ME.  Except the “ain’t” thing.  That still drove Coulson nuts.  I don’t know.  Like I said.  Didn’t mind it.  Still don’t talk as fancy as most of the people here.

 

 

Stark1:  Good.  I like that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  You’re a terrible influence.  Love it.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha why?  Cuz I like that you’re natural?  That makes me a bad influence?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  My line of work, it could be.  Ha.  But then, that’s why Nat does more of the interactive spy work.  I’m not too good at changing my personality.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Believe me, I know.  I was…..ah.  I was pretty into her when she did the job at my place.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   HA.  Yeah.  She told me.  Yeah.  Every once in a while they send me to do that sort of job.  Very rarely.  I’m too…“confrontational”…I think was the word they used.

 

 

Stark1:  She TOLD you?  That bitch.  Great.  Bet you two had a good laugh about that one.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  HAHA just a little.  But hey.  How were you supposed to know you weren’t her type?

 

 

Stark1:  Okay, fuck you.  It’s not funny.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh, come on.  She’s hot.  And she wanted you to think so.  If you hadn’t, it would have made things difficult.

 

 

Stark1:  Whatever.  You just loooove that YOU’RE her type, and that was damn funny to you two.  And I’m sorry if I don’t find that amusing.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hey.  I’m sorry.  That’s not…..look, it was funny to me because you didn’t realize she could kill you without really trying and I kinda wondered if knowing that would have made a difference to you.  And I’m not really Natasha’s type, either.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea right.  That’s why you two fucked.  Cuz you’re SO not her type.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I’m not.

……thought she was mine, though.  And I was wrong.  That whole thing died a long time ago, though.

 

 

Stark1:  Mm.  So I could also turn out to be not-your-type, then.  Just someone you enjoy fucking.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No!  What the hell.  No.  That’s not what I meant.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea?  Pretty big leap from a readheaded Russian sexpot WOMAN to me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, well.  I tend to take really big leaps from time to time.

……………….was I wrong this time around, too?

 

 

Stark1:  Fuck.  Why would you even ask me that?  Fuck.  I can’t.  I have to go.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Tony!  Wait.  Please.  Please don’t.  Fuck.  I’m sorry.  That’s not what I meant.  Please.  Please don’t go.

 

 

Stark1:  Well what the hell do you EXPECT me to do?  I don’t WANT you to have made a mistake, but how the fuck am I supposed to know?!  If you change your mind I really have no control over that.  Fuck.  Goddammit.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I’m not going to change my mind!  Just…….Goddamn you don’t really think I just see you as nothing more than a good fuck, do you?

 

 

Stark1:  I never said I did.  But if you do change your mind then yea, that’s all I’ll end up being.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  No it won’t.  And I won’t change my mind.  God.  You’re so much more.

 

 

Stark1:  …..yea?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  God yes.  I don’t even…..I can’t even explain I just.  I love you and I…..this isn’t a mistake.  It’s not a damned mistake and it may have been a leap but it’s the best I’ve ever made.

 

 

Stark1:  ….wow.  I…thank you.  I know you always say I’m sappy and I guess maybe I am but you’re probably the best thing that’s ever happened to me.  I don’t know what I’d do if I lost you.  Maybe it sounds stupid but it’s true.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  It’s not…..not to me.  And you won’t lose me.  You’re very good at finding me.

…..and I’m sending you postcards.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha.  And I’m saving all of them.  Every single one.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  Cool.  I’m gonna send other stuff too.  But probably mostly postcards.

 

 

Stark1:  I’ll save it all.

……I’m sorry I upset you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  I mean.  I started it.  I should be apologizing.  And I am.

 

 

Stark1:  It.  It’s okay.  I just….I can’t stand the thought of you and Tasha laughing at me.  But you didn’t mean any harm.  I know that.  I need to get over it.  You love me.  That’s all that matters.  Not Tasha.  Just you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Damn straight just me.  Tasha gets enough attention.  I want yours.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha!  You do.  You get……well…..most of it.  My work gets some, obviously.  But you get more than any other person.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Awesome.  Because yeah.  Don’t know if you noticed but I’m actually kinda needy for attention.  And seeing as you’ve actually managed to get most of mine lately, it’s only fair that I get yours.

 

 

Stark1:  …..actually, you’re pretty good at hiding this apparent “needy”ness.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha!  Yeah.  I don’t like to feel like I am.  Needy, I mean.  I think I do a good job of hiding it.  Guess I do tend to annoy the hell out of people, though.  The head-doctors say it’s something like “middle child syndrome” or some such shit.  Which is bull because I was never a middle child.

 

 

Stark1:  …..yea.  Still don’t really know much about that.  Heh.  I managed to be needy as an only child.  Guess it doesn’t matter what order you were born in heh.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Guess not.  I think sometimes they make crap up so they don’t have to answer with “well.  We don’t have a fucking clue.”

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, seriously.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I can’t even understand half the stuff they say, you know?  Like, are those real words?  Or are they just messing with people?

 

 

Stark1:  Oh, they’re real.  Just annoying.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Seriously?  Are they English?  I feel like English shouldn’t be that complicated.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, a lot of them are derived from Latin.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, well, Latin can bite me.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  No it can’t.  That’s MY job.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha!  Your job is to bite me?

 

 

Stark1:  Mm.  Haven’t done it yet?  Huh.  Guess not.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Nope.  So you’re failing at your job, apparently.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Well, I’ll have to remedy that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  Look forward to it.  Sounds fun.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?  You like being bitten?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  The few times it’s happened it’s been nice…..not including animals or crazy people.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha.  Well……I’m gonna make it better.  MUCH better.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, now I’m REALLY looking forward to it.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.  Hmm.  Wonder if I’ll have time to grab another postcard tomorrow.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Wow.  You’re gonna inundate me with these, huh.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …..um.  Maybe….I….don’t know what that means….

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Means you’re gonna send so many I’ll be buried in them.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha!  Oh.  Well.  Maybe.  Okay.  Rule.  I’ll only send one from any place I’ve been to while I’m there.  Then, if I go back, I can send another.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  If you want.  You can send as many as you want.  I don’t mind.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Okay.  Good.  Cuz if I see a good one, I’m sending it.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Good.  I’m gonna be checking the mail every day.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, I sent the first ones today, so it might take a little bit.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Still gonna be checking.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  You’re cute.

 

 

Stark1:  Fuck off.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  But it’s just not the same without you.

 

 

Stark1:  …………….you’re SUCH a pain in the ass.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha yeah.  But I’m an awesome pain in the ass, right?

 

 

Stark1:  Unfortunately, yes.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  I don’t find it so unfortunate.

 

 

Stark1:  I’ll bet you don’t.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Because I’m awesome.

 

 

*several minutes later* 

 

 

Stark1:  Hey, check your phone.  I just sent you a video.  I think you’ll find it….diverting.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …………………………..you.  Are an ass.

……………………but that is VERY hot.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  You started it.  And hey.  Now you have something to entertain you when I’m not around to take care of “business“ for you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  That is very true……..awesome.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  You think?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I do.  Still not the same……..but nice.

 

 

Stark1:  Good.  Glad to know you’ll get some use out of it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Yeah.

 

 

Stark1:  Good.

…..so, what’re you up to right now?

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Nothing.  I have to wait in the damn hotel until we’re cleared to move to the next target location.  It sucks.  They won’t even let me wander around the city.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, you’ll just have to find some other means of entertainment.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hmm.  Guess I will…..

 

 

Stark1:  ……….that sounds a bit…..evil.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What?  Evil?  Me?  No.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, right.  What’re you up to.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Nothing…..wandering around the hotel.  All innocent-like.

 

 

Stark1:  Bullshit.  What are you doing?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Taking the elevator.

 

 

Stark1:  ……..WHERE?  Dammit, Clint, where are you going, you evasive bastard.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  To the roof.  😀  In an elevator shaft.

 

 

Stark1:  ………..and what exactly are you going to do on the roof?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I’d say BASE jump but I’m not allowed.  So I’ll figure it out when I get there…

…….maybe use that video you sent me…

 

 

Stark1:  ……………fuck.  Really?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Considering it.

 

 

Stark1:  Fuck.

………do more than consider?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Mnn.  Like what?  Make it a plan?

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Make it happen.  Fuck.  Wish I could watch.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, I could try and send you a response video.

 

 

Stark1:  ……..fuck.  Please?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Just for you.

 

 

Stark1:  Damn.  Really?  Wow.  Okay.  I’ll leave you alone, then.  Heh.  Fuck.

 

 

*several minutes later* 

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….check your messages.

 

 

Stark1:  ………………….FUCK.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I’m hoping that’s approval.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh fuck yea.  Goddamn.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh good.

 

 

Stark1:  Damn.  Yea.  Very good.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, I’m glad you liked it….

…..was thinking of you, in case you couldn’t tell.

 

 

Stark1:  …………..yea, the way you moaned my name kinda gave that away.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Wasn’t sure if that picked up.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, I’m pretty sharp.

Goddamn.  That was hot.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Good..  Heh.  Never thought I’d find that so sexy.

 

 

Stark1:  What?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Masturbation…  Usually it’s just one of those things, you know?  But this was different.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh yea?  Why’s that?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Don’t know.  Wasn’t meaningless.  Knew that this was just to hold me over.  I have you waiting for me back home.

……Goddamn, after-glow turns me sappy.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  I like it.  Love you sappy.

 

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Mnn.  Course you do.

…..I should probably stop being sappy while all exposed on the roof.

 

 

Stark1:  ………….did anyone see you?  Cuz I’ll have to kill them.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well…..I’m on the roof.  That’s supposed to be no access, so I think we’re good.

 

 

Stark1:  Better be.  I’m the only one who gets to see you like that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Damn straight.  I plan to keep it that way.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?  Good.  I’d appreciate that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Ass.  You really think I let just anyone see me like that?

 

 

Stark1:  ………….better not.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Just you from now on, Tony.  Don’t get all paranoid, now.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Not.  Not really.  Just possessive.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  Huh.

 

 

Stark1:  ……what?  What’s “huh”?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Nothing, just….not used to someone being possessive.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, I am.  Extremely.  You’re mine.

…..hope that’s not a problem.  Don’t think I can change.  Don’t know that I want to.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  No.  No.  I like it.  Makes me feel pretty good.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea?  Good.  Good.  Cuz I really don’t intend on letting you go without a fight.  So…..yea.  Don’t change your mind about wanting me.  I don’t know how to fight that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I won’t.  I’m stubborn like that.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Good.  Stay stubborn.  And I’ll do my best to stay my irresistible self.  😉

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You better.  Love you.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Love you too.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, yeah.  Because I’m awesomely loveable.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Wow.  Never thought you’d willingly use the word “loveable”, especially not in reference to yourself.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, well.  The situation called for it.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Dork.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Not.

 

 

Stark1:  Are too.  When are you back from this mission?

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Tomorrow afternoon I should be done.  So evening.

 

 

Stark1:  Really?  Sweet.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.  I even get a minimum three day leave after.

 

 

Stark1:  …………you’re shitting me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Nope.  Apparently I’m due for some time.  And now that I have a reason to take it, figured I would.

 

 

Stark1:  …………that is awesome.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Right?  Don’t know how long after the three days I’ll have, but still.

 

 

Stark1:  ………..but there’s soooo much I can do with you in three days.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha you think?

 

 

Stark1:  Nope.  I KNOW.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh.  You KNOW.  So you got a plan then or you just gonna make it up on the fly?

 

 

Stark1:  Well, I have a bit of time to plan, but you know me.  Some of it will definitely be on the fly.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Ha yeah.  Figured as much.  You’re very impulsive.

 

 

Stark1:  ……WOW.  You’re the first person to ever tell me that.  Thank you.  I’ve learned something new about myself today.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Shut the hell up.  Ass.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  That’s me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  That’s why I said it.

 

 

Stark1:  Yup.

…..I’m SO putting this video on a dvd so I can watch it on my big screen.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …..um…..so long as you don’t leave it lying around.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  You think I’m letting anyone else get their hands on this thing?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  That’s true.  You wouldn’t.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Thanks.  Give me SOME credit.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha I give you much credit.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, yeah.  You put up with me on an almost daily basis.

 

 

Stark1:  Yup.  It’s all cuz of that sweet ass.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I knew it.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Oh, did you?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.  Knew it all along.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Either quite proud of your ass or not confident with your personality.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh, I am VERY proud of my ass.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, you should be.  It’s pretty fan-fucking-tastic.  Still, notice you didn’t say anything about your personality.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  My personality is like a stiff drink…..not everyone can take it and stay civil.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  God, I love you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  See.  You like your liquor hard.  So of course you love me.

 

 

Stark1:  ……I could make SO many dirty jokes off that one statement.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha!  Ass.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  You should know that by now.  That comment was just ripe for parody.

……I do though.  Love your personality.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Because you’re insane.  But I love you for it.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Which makes you even more messed up, loving me with my fucked up personality and all my issues.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, I never said I wasn’t screwed up.

 

 

Stark1:  Obviously.  S’why you’re dating ME.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.  Cuz I’m insane and screwed up.

 

 

Stark1:  Yup.  Very.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, good thing you like that sorta thing.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Yea.  If my past relationship history has told us anything, it’s that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  What.  You attract the crazies?

 

 

Stark1:  Ha, yea, pretty much.  Or am attracted to them.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  More reason I’m a lucky bastard.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Guess so.  Unless we run into another Jenny situation.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Psh.  Then I take care of it.

 

 

Stark1:  Haha. Yea.  Did a good job last time.  And it’s not like it happens often.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I think I’m probably far crazier than anyone else you’ve been with.  Also more stubborn and determined.  I will trump them all.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Yea.  Not like they’re really dangerous, anyway.  Just women.

…..some men.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……………….psh.  I’m sexier than all of em.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Yea, most definitely.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  And….better.  I’m awesome.  And we’re better together.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, THAT was NEVER up for debate.

…..you…….you okay?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Yeah, I’m fine.  It’s good.

 

 

Stark1:  …..okay.  I……okay.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.

…..so….you know, out of curiosity….what made you decide to try for me?

 

 

Stark1:  ……..you really have no idea how amazing you are, do you.  Tch.  Idiot.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Hey.  I know I’m awesome.  Just didn’t think it was something you paid attention to.  I mean, except for maybe seeing you in passing when they called you in for a consultation, I’m pretty sure the first time we interacted…..I kinda almost blew everybody up.  Not the best first impression, you would think.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, well, believe it or not, I don’t rely on first impressions. I’m not the best at making them, so I tend not to judge other people like that. And anyway, none of that was your fault. And then I saw you.  And you were fucking gorgeous. And then I talked to you, and you were cocky as fuck and had an attitude a mile long. So you became a challenge. And the more I talked to you, the more time I spent with you, the more I liked you. I fell in love with you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ………………….yeah.  I think you just made my entire life right there and I wish I were coming home today.  You.  Thank you.

 

 

Stark1:  You don’t need to thank me, you idiot.  I love you.  More than anything.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No, you don’t understand.  I can count on one hand the number of people who’ve given me that kind of chance.  You’re amazing.  And I’m glad.  Glad I fell in love back.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Me too.  You don’t know how glad.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  You know something?  I always did want to meet you.  Especially after the whole Iron Man thing.  I mean…that press conference.  You should have seen Fury’s face.  Priceless.  I didn’t think there was anyone as ballsy and stupid as me until then.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Oh yea?  Nice to know I had a fan.  ;P

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh yeah.  Heh.  I thought if we ever meet each other we’d either hate each other, be best friends, or maybe both……didn’t see THIS coming, but considering neither of us likes to do stuff half assed, maybe I should have.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha. Yea. I was pretty fucking determined to get you, no matter what. But I didn’t realize at first just how much it would end up meaning. How much I’d care about you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha yeah?  So what….before, you just wanted the bragging rights?  😛

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  No, not really.  Wasn’t going to run around bragging about how I fucked you.  Just…..like I said, I enjoy a challenge.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha ass.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey!  Hahahaha that so doesn’t make me an ass.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  And what if I’d fallen for you and you didn’t fall for me?  That’d just have been awkward.

 

 

Stark1:  You didn’t seem the type to be interested in me. Not emotionally interested anyway. And… well, my relationships tend to be no more than flings. … with a few exceptions.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?

…….how many exceptions?

 

 

Stark1:  …..um…….……a few……several……not many?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……well….you’re gonna be my last….if you promise I’m yours?

 

 

Stark1:  Why are you so stupid sometimes? Of COURSE you’re my last.  Don’t want anyone else. Ever.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha!  Sorry.  Can’t help it.  I have issues.  But good to know.  I mean.  I DID know.  But.  Yeah.  Good to hear.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, well, I’m always willing to tell you.  So long as you say it back.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I’ll always say it back.

 

 

Stark1:  Good.  Good.

……you know, you’re getting really good at saying shit now. Telling me how you feel. I love it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, well…..don’t tell anyone else.  Still kinda hard, but.  I know it makes you happy and for some reason I love to see your dumb ass happy.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Oh my God I love you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Of course you do.  I’m awesome.  We discussed this.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Yea, you are.

…….what am I supposed to do till you get home?  I’m bored.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Get a scrapbook?  Make a list of fun things we can do when I get back?  Make another robot?

 

 

Stark1:  …………well, if I do all of the above, it may fill the time.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Get some sleep, too.

 

 

Stark1:  …………….well…….I guess that could fill an hour or two more.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Two and a half.  Let it fill at least two and a half.  Your eyes look better without the bags.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh yea?  You like my eyes?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, actually.  They’re really nice.  So stop messing them up with your no-sleep.  Dick.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Well, you just gave me more incentive to take care of myself.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh, was that all it took?  Guess I’ll have to think of something I like that involves you eating, too.  But for now I’ll be happy if you slept a little more.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Well, let’s see how I do with the sleeping.  Can’t guarantee how well it’ll work, but I’ll try to make myself.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Well.  Thanks for trying, at least.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  No problem.

………………..did some guy named Will Branford just transfer to your department?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Will Branford…..maybe.  Haven’t been to the department in a few days.  Been out here on the mission.  Why?

 

 

Stark1:  Ah.  No reason.  I’ll talk to Coulson about it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….what?  Why?  Tony.  Who is he?

 

 

Stark1:  No one.  It’s no one.  Just a guy.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……last time you said something like that, “some girl” had a name.  And was looking you up.

 

 

Stark1:  ………..I already told you his name.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You know what I mean!

 

 

Stark1:  It’s nothing!  He didn’t………….didn’t send me his number or anything.  Just…….nothing.  It’s nothing.  Forget it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….how the hell am I supposed to forget that?!  Wait.  My department?  As in SHIELD?  This guy’s SHIELD?  I have to WORK with him??

 

 

Stark1:  No!  Fuck no, you think I’m going to LET you?  Why do you think I’m calling Coulson?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……let me?  What….worried I’m gonna shoot him?  Cuz it is actually crossing my mind.

Wait.  If he didn’t…..how do you know he’s even there?

 

 

Stark1:  …………….said he didn’t give me his number….not that he didn’t contact me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ………………………………………….the fuck.  Who the hell……who the fuck does he think he is?  Why…….no.

 

 

Stark1:  ……”no” what?  What’re you going to……look.  I’ll take care of it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  The hell.  I should be able to take care of it.  What the hell is he doing contacting you.  He has to KNOW.  He’s freaking SHIELD.

 

 

Stark1:  ………….why exactly would that mean he knows?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Because you’re off limits.  They know that.

 

 

Stark1:  Um, you’ve never really wanted to make our relationship public.  I don’t know that it’s common knowledge.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  It’s not common…..

Nevermind.  He should know.

……damn it.

 

 

Stark1:  I’m sorry!  I didn’t ask him to…..I.  Dammit.  I’m sorry.  Things ended years ago.  I haven’t talked to him…..really talked to him…..in years.  Definitely never encouraged him.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Dammit…..it’s not your fault.  I’m not upset with you.  Just…..what the hell.

 

 

Stark1:  I don’t know.  I’m sorry.  I shouldn’t…..fuck.  I’m sorry.  I’ll talk to Coulson.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……yeah.  Fine.  Okay.  Tch.  Don’t know if it’ll matter…..he’s gotta be good if they accepted that transfer.

 

 

Stark1:  I don’t care.  If he’s good, I’m sure they’d rather keep him than risk losing him when you snap and kill him.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  Can’t be that good if he’d let that happen…………

Did he call?

 

 

Stark1:  ………….Clint…

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……sorry…..never mind.  It’s fine.  I’m fine.  Doesn’t matter.  Just some guy.

 

 

Stark1:  ……..you’re NOT fine.  Goddammit.  This is so stupid.  I’m sorry.  I only brought it up because I wanted to make sure I kept him away from you.  The last thing I wanted to do was hurt you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You’re not gonna hurt me.  I’m being stupid.  It shouldn’t matter.  So he might want you.  So what.  He can’t have you.

 

 

Stark1:  No, he can’t.  Never again.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Shit…….I want to come home.

 

 

Stark1:  …………I’m sorry.  I’m really really sorry.  Fuck.  I ruin everything.  Can I do anything to help?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hey.  Shut up.  You don’t ruin everything.  I would have found out eventually.  I’m fine.

 

 

Stark1:  …….I’m still getting him transferred away from you.

……far, far away from you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ………that more for my benefit, or his safety?  ;P

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Well, it’s not like I WANT him to die, but no, that’s so my boyfriend doesn’t get in trouble for murdering a fellow agent.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  You’re so sweet.  Still.  I do have to learn some control.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, well, Will’s the type who’d enjoy taunting you with details.  I’d rather avoid that.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh.  He’s one of THOSE.

 

 

Stark1:  Ah…….yea.  And I’d REALLY prefer not to go there.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Heh.  All right.  I won’t complain either way……should I happen to run into him, I’ll even try to behave.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh, bullshit.  You don’t even behave for me, or Coulson, and he’s your fucking boss.  AND you have a temper.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …………I do not have a temper…….I have loud opinions.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Yea, okay.  Sure.  That’s why you almost killed Bruce when you only IMAGINED that he was TRYING to touch me?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……..shut up.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Will not.  You’re very possessive.  Least when it comes to me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, yeah.  Because you’re mine and apparently everyone wants you.

 

 

Stark1:  ………..oh, do they?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Apparently, but you’re mine.

 

 

Stark1:  ………yea……….I enjoy how irresistible you seem to think I am.  😄

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, I think you are, so why wouldn’t they?

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  I know for a fact I am.  I’m Tony fucking Stark.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahahaha.  Ass.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha says the man who brags alllll the time about how awesome he is.  And you love me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I AM awesome.  And I do love you.

 

 

Stark1:  I know you do.  Tons.  Tons and tons.

………….I miss you.  Come home.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Tomorrow.  Promise.  As soon as I can.

 

 

Stark1:  Dammit.  Come on.  I fucking hate these fucking missions.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I know.  But I can’t just blow them off.  You know that.

 

 

Stark1:  Whatever.  You’ve got a sugar daddy.  Just come live off of me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  HA.  Love it.  But my pride just won’t let me.

 

 

Stark1:  So you’d rather spend time away from me.  Tch.  Fine.  I see how it is.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Not what I mean and you know it.

 

 

Stark1:  No, but one follows the other.

………I wanna see you.  Remembering certain things now and they’re stupid in comparison to you.  I’d much rather be making new memories with you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  And we will.  Have at least three days of time to make them.

 

 

Stark1:  ………..yea, well I’m impatient.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  You?

 

 

Stark1:  Haha shut the fuck up.  Oh, hold on.  Fuck.  One minute.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Wha?  Okay.

 

 

*several minutes later* 

 

 

Stark1:  Okay.  Sorry.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What was that?

 

 

Stark1:  Nothing.  Nothing.  Phone call.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Oh……okay.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  No big deal.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Okay……so I think I’ve successfully rewired the elevator to stop at the wrong floors.

 

 

Stark1:  …………..is that a good thing?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  For me.  Not for the confused bastards IN the elevator.

…….you sure it was nothing?

 

 

Stark1:  ……..yea.  Um…………I think I may dismantle the phone.  Or fuck around with it.  Block a few numbers.  But yea.  Not a problem.

 

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …………………….you okay?

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Yea.  Unwanted calls.  Not anything to worry about.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Different people?  When……when you gonna do that?  Will you wait?  I still wanna talk to you.

 

 

Stark1:  No.  Not this phone.  House phone.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ………I didn’t even know you HAD a house phone.

……like Jarvis?

 

 

Stark1:  Yea, pretty much.  It’s not like, a normal hand-held phone.  You wouldn’t look at it and think “phone”.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Huh……and someone’s calling it.

 

 

Stark1:  ………….yea.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….yeah.  Fix that, maybe.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Working on it.  The number’s scrambled, so it’ll take a while, but I can do it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….is it Will?

 

 

Stark1:  ………..yea.  Don’t freak out, it’s not a big deal.  I’ve got it under control.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….he’s scrambling his number…..the fuck.

 

 

Stark1:  He is not, it’s a SHIELD thing.  Isn’t it?  I mean, it’s happened before.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……maybe.  Yeah…..still.  Why is he still bothering you?

 

 

Stark1:  ………………….my charming conversation?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Well, that’s for me and me-approved people only.  He’s not on that list.

 

 

Stark1:  Definitely not.  Only you.  He…FUCK.  Motherfucker.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …………again?

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Fuck.  Fuck it.  I’m going to talk to him.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……………………okay.  Tell him you’re taken……and his life may very well be in danger.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  I’ll be sure to drop your name.  If that doesn’t put the fear of God into him, I don’t know what will.

……..I mean…..if you’re okay with that?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  That’s fine.  That should work.  I’m a scary bastard when I want to be.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Don’t have to tell me.

……..so you don’t care?  If he knows?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I’m pretty sure he’d find out anyway if he keeps it up and I hunt him down…

 

 

Stark1:  …………..that’s not really the answer I was looking for….

 

 

Hawkeye58:   What were you looking for?  Why would I care if he knew?

 

 

Stark1:  I don’t know.  You usually don’t seem to want people to know.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well……I don’t like civilians or media to know because I don’t want us to be used against each other.  But I mean….he’s SHIELD.  Less likely to be an issue in that regard.

 

 

Stark1:  Well……..you’ve always just seemed to want to keep it quiet in general.  But……thanks.  I really like knowing that.  It really means a lot to me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, yeah.  I mean.  It’s not like I’m embarrassed or anything.  I just worry about being used against each other.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh God.  Fuck.  I’ve been worried for nothing all this time.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha what?  You thought I was embarrassed?  Me?  Nah.  I don’t care.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, you never wanted me to talk about it!  Yea.  I thought you were embarrassed.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha!  Sorry.  No.  No, that wasn’t it at all.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh, good.  Good.  I.  Goddammit!  Motherfucker.  Okay, I’m gonna go talk to him.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Okay……..let me know what happens.

 

 

Stark1:  No.  You’ll inevitably flip out.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   …………..what if I promise not to?

 

 

Stark1:  Oh, like I’ll fucking believe you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……….so little trust.  😛

 

 

Stark1:  Haha right.  You threatened to kill Bruce and he’s your friend.  God knows what you’d do to some guy you don’t know who’s trying to fuck me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….is he?

 

 

Stark1:  ………………maybe.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ………..that son of a bitch.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey.  Relax.  It’s okay.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  He’s a bastard.

……..did you talk to him yet?

 

 

Stark1:  No.  No, I’ve been talking to you.  Haven’t wanted to leave.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Okay.  Good.

…..well.  Maybe you should tell him.  But I prefer you talking to me.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Me too.  I just……I don’t know.  Stuff was never really settled, and the last thing I want is him to think we’re a thing.  I mean, we never WERE a thing, but…..I don’t want him to think things are going to be……..like before.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well.  I don’t know how things were before…..but it won’t be like that again.  If you can’t convince him, I will.

 

 

Stark1:  What the fuck?!  No.  No, it won’t be.   You think I’m gonna go fuck him?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  But I don’t know if he thinks he can try.  Apparently he does think.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Yea he does think.  It was never a problem before.  But it is now.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Why now?  What the hell.  No, people.  Tony Stark is mine.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  I am.  That’s why now it’s a problem.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah…….so tell him to stop.  Or I’ll have to take drastic measures.

 

 

Stark1:  I’m working on it!  I just………….I keep on getting distracted by you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Because I’m awesomely distracting.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha.  Yea.  You are.  And I don’t want to be just a booty call anymore.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  No more of that.  You’re worth more than that.  He better not think that.

 

 

Stark1:  Well, that’s pretty much all we were.  No real relationship.  So yea.  I guess he thinks we can pick right up where we left off.  But it’s not going to happen.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Good.  You tell him that.  When you’re done talking to me.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Yea.

……..be better if you were here.  I really REALLY want to see you now.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I know.  Soon…….heh.  Have to get ready to move soon.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea?  Come see me.  Soon.  Real soon?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Real soon.  On the damn plane as soon as I’m done.  Seriously not gonna tell me how the conversation goes?

 

 

Stark1:  ……………um…………..I think there are words being spoken that you would not appreciate.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Wait.  Are you speaking now?  Is he insulting you?

 

 

Stark1:  ………….no.  No insults.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……..no.  Tell him to stop.

 

 

Stark1:  I am!  Dammit, you think I’m not?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  I know you are.  I’m just.  I don’t know…..stating my opinion?  I don’t know.

 

 

Stark1:  FUCK.  I gotta go.  I love you, okay?  I love you SO MUCH.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  O…..okay.  I love you too……I’ll let you know when I’m on my way back…..talk to me then?

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  I’ll talk to you BEFORE then.  Promise.  Just……dammit.  I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.  Motherfucker.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   If I don’t answer, I’m on a mission.  Don’t get upset.  If you need anything, call Coulson.  Please.  Okay?

 

 

Stark1:  ……..I don’t WANT Coulson, I want YOU.  Goddammit.  Fuck Will, fuck SHIELD, fuck missions.  Fuck EVERYTHING.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Tony……I’ll be home soon.  Promise.  I’ll do everything I can to finish sooner.  Okay?

 

 

Stark1:  I know.  I’m sorry.  I’m not trying to complain I just.  GODDAMMIT.  Okay motherfucker I need to get the door

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What?  Wait what?  He’s THERE?!

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Yea he’s fucking here.  Don’t freak out, I’m taking care of it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Tony….fuck.  Please can I kill him?  Or just hurt him?

 

 

Stark1:  Clint…………..no.  I seriously wouldn’t care at this point, but I don’t want you getting in trouble over this.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……….I’m sure I can get out of it.

 

 

Stark1:  …….Clint…..fuck.  Motherfucker.  Just……..come home to me.  That’s all I need.  I don’t care what you do once you’re here, as long as I don’t lose you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……why would you lose me?  You won’t lose me.  I’ll be home soon….just.  Get him out.  Get him out and get some sleep.  And I’ll be home.

 

 

Stark1:  I’ll lose you if you kill him and SHIELD fucking kicks your ass!  Now yea…..I’ll get him out.  And I’ll let you know I’m fine.  And I’ll go to bed.  So you can enjoy my eyes.  😉

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……..promise?   …….I miss your eyes.

 

 

Stark1:  ……………..God.  I love you so much.  Here.  I’ll send you a picture of me.  You do the same?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Okay.  Give me a sec.

 

 

Stark1:  Okay.  Sure.  *picture attached*

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Sorry.  Had to get out of the elevator shaft.  Not enough light.  Damn, you look good…….tired.  But good.  Miss you.   *picture attached*

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  You too.  But you always do.  And I’m gonna try and sleep.  Promise.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Thanks.   ….Hey.  I promise I won’t do anything to Will.  Even if I run into him.  Okay.  Promise I won’t get myself in trouble.  And you won’t lose me.

I gotta get ready to move.  Get him out.  Get some sleep.  I love you.  And I’ll see your needy ass tomorrow.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Hey, you LOVE that I’m needy.  Don’t deny it.  And he’s as good as gone.  I love you.  Be safe.

 

 

~tbc~

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Angela Farooq

     /  July 1, 2012

    Oh god, more amazing Clint/Tony from you, yay! I’ve been following you via fanfiction.net, but you said the text fics were gonna be removed:( But I’m glad I visited this site, there’s new stories here! This was so cute!

    Reply
  2. sabrina

     /  July 1, 2012

    nice seeing them discuss a serious topic too! love all these stories and this one answered a question of mine…i was wondering if all these were connected or separate and this story answered that for me lol. can’t wait for more! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Yea, they’re all connected in their own little way. They can be read alone, but it helps to read them together, since a lot of them will have things mentioned that were first brought up in other stories.
    I’m glad the serious stuff went over well! There will be more to come, both serious and funny!^^

    Reply
  4. Topazione

     /  July 28, 2012

    as always, yay for text fics 🙂 i really, really don’t like it when they fight. it leaves me feeling all uneasy and wrong. which, i guess is a credit to your writing skill that it can make me feel like that. so keep writing that way, so long as they always make up and it is all happy happy (i’m kinda tired, so this comment is a bit rambly, but you should know that i think you are amazing, and just get more so with every fic i read – slowly catching up!)

    Reply
    • Lol yea, it’s sad when they fight, but relationships have low points as well as high. Don’t worry, though….I never intend to end them on a sad note. Tony/Clint forever.^^

      Reply
  5. paisley15

     /  October 29, 2012

    The fight got me all excited and nervous at once. I can’t stop smiling! There’s so much crass, indirect, almost awkward fluff between them. Great job!

    Reply
    • Yea. They’re both very straightforward, crass people, with attitude problems, but they have that sweetness too, and I don’t think it gets shown enough, so I try to let it shine through.
      Thank you!

      Reply
  6. Tabby

     /  March 28, 2013

    I can’t believe I never left a review for this. I think it’s so cute and hot that Clint is overly jealous of Tony, (overly jealous in the Bruce case, not this case.) Honestly, your stories make me believe that couples can work through anything no matter what. I know how sappy that sounds, but it’s true.

    Reply
  7. Windstorm124

     /  January 23, 2014

    I love the postcard thing that you started this chapter with; I think it’s an adorable idea. I also like how Clint gets all possessive and stuff. Well written, and well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

