Nesting Instincts: Chapter 1

Sometimes, people can change without changing at all.

Tony Stark/Clint Barton, established relationship.  First chapter in text format, second chapter in story format.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Hawkeye58:  So I’ve got this job, right.  And so far nothing really to do.  Just watching.  Checking this guy’s habits and schedule.  Pretty boring.  But right across the street there’s one of them traveling carnivals.  And there’s this kid been trying to win at one of them dunk booths.  Can’t aim for shit.

….how pissed you think Coulson’d be if I helped him out from up here?

 

 

Stark1:  HA oh man.  Do it.  Please?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Heh…..I’m gonna.  This kid is determined.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh man.  He’s gonna think he’s such a BAMF.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  HA.  Oh man.  This kid’s face.  Hahaha. Screw saving the world, that was awesome.  I think I made this kid’s week.  Totally worth the screaming in my ear.

 

 

Stark1:  Awww, your nesting instincts kicking in, Hawkeye?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hey.  Shut the hell up.  Just felt bad for him.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha suuuuuure.  You wanna be a mommy.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  You kidding?  I’d make a terrible mother.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Duh.  I, on the other hand, would be an AWESOME parent.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh?  You think?  And why’s that, exactly?

 

 

Stark1:  I’m fun.  I run my business mainly from home, so I’d be around most of the time.  I had a great fatherly example of what NOT to do, so that always helps.

…..ignoring that….

…….did I mention that I’m awesome?  Cuz yea, that helps, too.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  Yeah, okay.  I guess I can see your point.  But what….you want a kid some day to prove it?

 

 

Stark1:  …….ah.  Didn’t actually think…   Um.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  What?  Did I put you on the spot?

 

 

Stark1:  ………..shuttup.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Aww.  And here you’re making fun of ME.

 

 

Stark1:  Hey.  Shuttup.  I never said I wanted kids.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Put all that potentially awesome parenting skills to waste?

 

 

Stark1:  Oh?  You saying I SHOULD have a kid?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  I’m just commenting on what you just said a second ago.

 

 

Stark1:  I was simply making an observation that I’d be an awesome parent.  No point denying the truth.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Okay.

 

 

Stark1:  Tch.  Ass.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Not.  And what the hell, agreeing I’d be a bad parent hahaha

 

 

Stark1:  Well, you’re gone all the time!  Your poor kid would never see you!  It fucking SUCKS having a dad you never see.

Otherwise, yea, I think you’d be a great dad.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Yeah.  That’s true.

Geez.  Coulson is still bitching about the booth thing.  It’s not like anyone realized what happened.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Wish I could’ve seen it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  It was great.  Wish you’d seen it, too.

 

 

Stark1:  Shall I write it in the journal, to tell our future children?  😛

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What….that I cheated for some kid who apparently had it out for someone in a dunk booth?  And WHAT future children?

 

 

Stark1:  HAHAHA oh my God I love that your first response was to the dunk tank, not us having kids.  Oh my God.  I’m gonna die.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …………shut the hell up.

 

 

Stark1:  HAHA!  Oh God.  This just gets better and better.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I swear I’m gonna kill you….

 

 

Stark1:  Are not.  You love me.  And apparently you wanna have my babies.  😛

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh yes.  Baby, knock me up.  You’re such an ass.

 

 

Stark1:  HAHA oh my God.  How can I resist when you ask like THAT?  Fuck, you’ve got me so hot now; I can’t handle it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Oh yeah.  I’m a sexy bastard, alright.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha okay, needs to stop.  You’re killing me.  I’m gonna just show up and attack you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Because THAT’LL go over well with Coulson.  “Sorry, Sir.  Got distracted by a carnival game, then Tony Stark.  I have no idea what the actual target was doing, as he was too boring.”

 

 

Stark1:  Yup.  And I’m entertaining.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  You are that.  Still don’t think it’ll go over well.

 

 

Stark1:  Pffft whatever.  I’ll tell him you couldn’t live another moment without me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ahahaha.  Couldn’t go on a second longer?

 

 

Stark1: Nope.  Not one second.  Wanted to see me…..touch me….

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh…..well, won’t deny that.

 

 

Stark1:  Mm.  Should do something about it, then.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah, well.  Wish I could.  Stuck here for the time being, though.

 

 

Stark1:  You at least got some cotton candy from that carnival?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haven’t been.  Maybe stop by when I’m done here.  If it’s still there.

 

 

Stark1:  That sucks.  When do you think you’ll be done?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Don’t know.  Just surveillance so hopefully I’ll actually be relieved.  Can’t go too far but still.  Be nice to walk around, right?

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  Let me know.  Carnival sounds fun.  I’ll totally meet you there.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh yeah?  Sounds fun.  I can show you how they rigged all the games.

 

 

Stark1:  Oh yea, I forgot about that.  You don’t talk much about your circus days.  I never wanted to ask.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well….not much to talk about.  Learned a lot.  Ended badly.  All my awesome luck.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  We’ve all got shit in our pasts we don’t like looking back on.  I figured if you ever wanted to tell me you would.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Probably will.  But really isn’t much to tell.  Was actually pretty great while it lasted.

 

 

Stark1:  That’s good.  And seriously, don’t feel like you have to.  I feel like I’m making you feel obligated, here.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Thanks.  But you know I won’t do anything I don’t want to.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Yea.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You know me.  Nothing if not stubborn.

 

 

Stark1:  No….really?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I know.  I appear so timid and meek.  It’s a cover, I swear.

 

 

Stark1:  HAHAHAHA oh God.  Those words should never be used in a sentence with any relevancy to you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Seriously?  Not in relevance to sweet, little ole me?  Whatever are you trying to say?

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha yea, “sweet” should probably be avoided, too.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahahaha.  Yeah.  Probably.

 

 

Stark1:  Mnn.  Definitely.  You’re an ass.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh?  Well, it’s not really a new adjective, but yeah.  More accurate.

 

 

Stark1:  Didn’t claim it was new.  Just fitting.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha thanks.

 

 

Stark1:  You love me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Damn straight.

 

 

Stark1:  Wow.  That was a really enthusiastic one.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  What?  My declaration of love?

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Heh.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Sorry……man.  This job is boring.  What the hell.

 

 

Stark1:  Whatcha up to?  I sorta feel like shit.  Like, in need of snuggles shitty.  L

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah?  That’s no good.  Can try and see when my relief is coming?  Get out of here.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha well don’t rush on my account.  But yea, I’d like to see you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah…..not gonna lie.  Not the best at cuddling.  But I can get there?  Be there.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Not a cuddler?  I never have been, but now I think I’m determined to get cuddles out of you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….you just loooooooooove to throw me out of my comfort zone, don’t you.

 

 

Stark1:  ………am I really not allowed cuddles?  It sounded like I was.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You’re allowed.  Said I’d do my best.  I mean.  Yeah.  You can have them.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  Won’t if you’re uncomfortable.  It’s fine.

 

 

Hawkeye58:   Will you shut the hell up and let me try and be a good boyfriend.

 

 

Stark1:  ………..boyfriend?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……um…..yeah?  No?  Did I.  I mean, is that not what we are?

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  I was hoping.  Never wanted to say it cuz I thought you’d call me an ass yet again.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well……I normally would.  So yeah.  But.  Well.  You’re not feeling good.  And.  I’m trying.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha.  So I’m only your boyfriend while I’m sick?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No.  That’s not what I meant.  I just…..damn it.  I’m shit at this.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  It’s okay.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  ……..you’re just saying that because I’m hopeless.

 

 

Stark1:  HA!  Well, you ARE a bit of a hard case.  But I’d never say hopeless.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha yeah?  Well, thanks.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  I’m still around, aren’t I?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  That’s true.  Hey.  My relief is here.  Phil says I can have the rest of the night.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea?  Haha I’m amazed he didn’t put you in time-out or something.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah…..um, probably will once we’re done with the mission.  Right now I think he’s trying to keep me focused.

 

 

Stark1:  ……so letting you loose to spend time with ME is going to keep you focused?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Otherwise I’ll probably sulk, be moody and more obnoxious than usual.

 

 

Stark1:  Wow.  How are you going to manage THAT?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  I don’t know, but Phil is convinced I can.

 

 

Stark1:  Hahaha.  I’ll be impressed.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  No one else will…….actually, that’s not true.  They will be.  But probably not nearly as amused.

 

 

Stark1:  Mm.  Well, I enjoy it when you misbehave.  Usually.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  I’ll keep that in mind.

 

 

Stark1:  Like you have to?  You rarely behave as it is.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha!  True.  Anyway.  I’m heading over.  Want me to bring anything?

 

 

Stark1:  To a carnival?  Like what?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Oh.  You still wanna go?  I thought you weren’t feeling well?

 

 

Stark1:  …….I’m not.  But I wanted to go to the carnival with you, too.  Is it gonna be open after today?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  I don’t know.  Not working it.

 

 

Stark1:  Tch what help are YOU?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Well, I can go ask.  But if you’re sick, you should stay home.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  But I’d really like to go with you sometime, if we can.  Heh.  Dorky.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, I’ll see and let you know.  I’m sure it’ll probably be up all weekend.

 

 

Stark1:  It’s not a big deal.  We’ll get there.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah. If not this one, there’s plenty out there.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  Think I’m actually more looking forward to these alleged cuddles I’m supposedly getting……

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Ha.  Well, if they’re terrible, I warned you.  Gonna change and then head over.  You rest.

 

 

Stark1:  How could they be terrible?  It’s your arms around me.  Nothing about that sounds bad.  Though I AM expecting snide commentary.  It IS you, after all.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  Yeah.  Can’t turn that off.

 

 

Stark1:  Wouldn’t want you to.  Keeps things entertaining.  If I wanted a boring relationship I could’ve dated Steve.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  HA.  I’d have given you guys maybe three days before trying to kill each other.  I think I’m being generous.

 

 

Stark1:  Ha yea.  Still, he thinks I’m hot.  I’ve seen him looking.  Maybe it’s a daddy thing.  Ug.  If he and my dad ever hooked up…..ug.  I think I may puke.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Hahaha.  Yeah.  I could see that being really damn weird.

 

 

Stark1:  You think?  FUCK.  Gross.  Okay, ignoring that thought, now….

 

 

Hawkeye58:  HA!  Okay.  Sorry.  Still.  Kinda funny.

 

 

Stark1:  Ug.  Is not.  Okay, moving on……

Then Bruce.  He wouldn’t be BORING to date, but it’d be more of an ordinary relationship than you.  Not boring, though.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Haha.  Yeah.  I guess.  You guys would bond over science.

 

 

Stark1:  Already have, but it’s a valid point.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah…..but no bonding more than you already have now.  Because we bond better.

 

 

Stark1:  Heh.  I like that you think that.  And trust in it enough to say it.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well.  We do.

 

 

Stark1:  Yea.  We do.  Just surprised you’d say so.  Heh.  Love you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yeah.  Well.  Love you too.  Hey.  I’m almost there.  Feeling any better?

 

 

Stark1:  Eh.  Not really.  Pretty sleepy.  It’s not very conducive to my work.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Well, stop working.

 

 

Stark1:  ……but that’s BORING.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Tony.  I swear…..get out of your lab and go to bed.  I’ll meet you there.

 

 

Stark1:  ………………fine.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Thank you.

 

 

Stark1:  Tch.  You’re welcome.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  …….you’re not here yet.

 

 

Stark1:  …………….you’re here?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You know, your bed is really comfy after being crouched in a window all day.

 

 

Stark1:  ……………yea, it’s a really comfy bed.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yup.  So the question is, why aren’t you here IN it?

 

 

Stark1:  ……I….there’s.  Um.  Stuff.  Everywhere.  Maybe?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Leave it.  Come to bed.  You need rest.

 

 

Stark1:  Okay.  I…..okay.

……you’re really up there?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  You can ask Jarvis.  Think I’m just gonna get comfy while I wait.

 

 

Stark1:  You’re such a jerk.  Why can’t you just say yes or no?

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Yes, Tony.  I’m freaking up here.  And I thought YOU were gonna be up here and now you seem to be stalling.  Which is dumb.  What?  Don’t want to see me after all?

 

 

Stark1:  I am not stalling!  You told me to meet you there so I started putting shit away cuz I didn’t know you were almost there!  Like, LITERALLY ALMOST THERE.  And now I’m on my way up.  My house is, as you like to point out so very often, kinda large.  So don’t be stupid.  I ALWAYS want to see you.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Heh.  Okay.  Don’t get all worked up.  Seriously.  Not good for your health.

 

 

Stark1:  Aww, you’re worried about me.

 

 

Hawkeye58:  Shut the fuck up.  Of course I am.  Where the hell are you.

 

 

Stark1:  Just hitting the top of the stairs.  See you in less than a minute.

 

 

 

 

~tbc~

 

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Love it!!!! This is Corabe from FF.net

    Reply
  2. Tabby

     /  September 29, 2012

    Tony, you little shit. “Just sitting at the top of the stairs.” Ha! Anyways, I always forget to tell you that I really like that you use the comic book stuff in your stories more than the movie stuff. I always like how Tony and Tasha don’t really get along in your stories and how you mention how Hawkeye was in the circus. Just little stuff like that. Also, I love how in this story two of my other favorite couples were mentioned. I have a thing for Steve/Tony and Bruce/Tony. I also like Bruce/Hawkeye, but I have NO idea why. ALSO, (sorry I have a lot of points to make), I really think Tony and Clint should eventually adopt a few kids. They would be perfectly awesome parents.

    Reply
    • LOL no, its just HITTING the top of the stairs. As in he’s just reaching the top.

      Steve/Tony is one of my least favs. I really only like Tony/Clint, tho Tony/Bruce isn’t bad.

      Reply
      • Tabby

         /  March 28, 2013

        I can’t believe I forgot to reply to your reply! How I could just ignore one of my favorite authors like that is beyond me and I must apologize for that. I’m sorry 😦 Also, I must inform you that you have ruined pretty much every other Avenger couple for me. I really can’t stand Steve/Tony or Bruce/Tony anymore, so thanks for that 😛 And, I’m not sure if you actually took my advice or not, but I was excited to read in your later stuff that perhaps Tony and Clint would be adopting children because I suggested that here 🙂

      • Wow! I’m actually….really proud of that accomplishment!

        It’s actually been planned for a long time for the two of them to have kids. Because we’re super gay like that and Tony and Clint with tiny hyperactive versions of themselves are just too great for words. 😛

      • Tabby

         /  March 29, 2013

        I’m still trying to not obsessive over Tony/Clint, but it’s not working very well 😛

        You have no idea how excited I am for that. It will complete my fangirlingness in so many ways. I may actually die of happiness.

  3. :). Cute, I love the little banter you made between them

    Reply
  4. Windstorm124

     /  January 23, 2014

    ….You mentioned all the reasons why I think Steve/Tony would never work. Thank you. Thank you. It’s kinda funny; I hate the most popular pairings for the Avengers. I think Clintasha is really, REALLY, OVERLY cliche (and I hate cliche couples), and Steve and Tony would tear each other apart. Love your stories, and keep it up!

    By the way, did the two of them ever go to the carnival? I have a feeling that would be an adorable story. If you already have one, could you tell me what it’s called, cause I haven’t seen it.

    Reply
    • No I haven’t written it. But it does indeed need to happen. And I am a diehard Stony hater lol, and the complete anti-Clintasha. Though strangely (and humorously) enough, writing these stories has helped me work through my dislike of her. It’s as if as Tony worked through his feelings and came to like her, I did as well. I even bought the ‘Black Widow’ comic that just came out. Strange how things work, huh.

      Reply
      • Windstorm124

         /  January 25, 2014

        I can stand Stony in tiny (minuscule) doses, but I prefer a strong friendship between Clint and Natasha, as opposed to a romantic relationship.

        And that is kinda weird, but it makes sense in an odd way….

  1. Nesting Instincts: illustration | nuwandasnicket

Leave a Reply

